1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

After upgrade computer wont boot. Help?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by chrisxuk, 2 Oct 2009.

  1. chrisxuk

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,742

    Location: ctf_2Fort

    Hi
    dads just upgraded his PC.
    Before he had
    3.0GHz Intel single core CPU i think
    1.5gb DDR ram
    256mb graphics card
    then two hard drives

    Bought a new motherboard: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MB-195-GI&groupid=701&catid=5&subcat=1483

    Processor: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CP-248-AM&groupid=701&catid=6&subcat=803

    RAM: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-192-CS&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=817

    PSU: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-006-CS&groupid=701&catid=123&subcat=1084

    DVD Drive: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CD-087-LG&groupid=701&catid=10&subcat=

    Just put it all together, turned on, show the inital screen with all the computers information. Then we get to the screen that asks if we want to boot into:
    Safe mode
    Safe mode with networking
    Safe mode with command prompt
    Last known good config
    Start normally

    Tried all of the above options and just restarts the PC after a second after clicking on it.

    Any idea what we can do to solve our problem?

    Any helps appreciated :)

    Cheers!
     
  2. izzy eckerslike

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Oct 2007

    Posts: 1,724

    Location: Worcestershire

    Try taking out the ram & putting it back in it or take out one stick leaving one in the primary slot
     
  3. chrisxuk

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,742

    Location: ctf_2Fort

    Will try that, thank you :)
     
  4. UKDTweak

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,592

    Location: N.Ireland

    Im guessing you have not done a clean install???
    This is the best option after replacing a motherboard, nevermind all the other parts.
     
  5. beefybarn

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jul 2008

    Posts: 3,744

    Location: Brighton

    +1 for the clean install, always do it when upgrading that many things.
     
  6. chrisxuk

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,742

    Location: ctf_2Fort

    Think we'll get a new HDD then for a fresh install. Thanks :)
     
  7. izzy eckerslike

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Oct 2007

    Posts: 1,724

    Location: Worcestershire

    When I added a new mobo I booted from the windows CD & selected 'repair windows' or reinstall windows & presumably it detects missing drivers & loads the generic ones on the disk because it eventually loaded o.k