1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

All those wanting a bandwidth controller!

Discussion in 'NIC Archive' started by Deathwish, 29 Mar 2003.

  1. Deathwish

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,956

    Location: Cold Scotland :(

  2. Lostie

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,984

    Location: Cheshire

    It's bandwidth capping software for windows, doesn't do proper prioritising AFAIK. Downstream-wise it's NO better than the current BSD/Linux solutions - ie. FAR less than perfect.
    It appears to calculate bandwidth based upon tcp/ip packet size - again a far from ideal solution but since it is the ONLY windows solution - it's not all bad :)
    Conclusion: Good for experimenting with, almost equal to the BSD solution, but a Linux-based dsl_qos_queue solution will still outclass it by quite a margin.
     
    Last edited: 30 Mar 2003
  3. Vietnow

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Dec 2002

    Posts: 1,751

    nice one, ive always wanted one of these to stop other computers eating up bandwidth on my connection, youd think such a simple program would be common but it was no where!
    cheers :D
     
  4. Sone

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,647

    seemed to do the job for me, downloading splinter cell demo at 27.5kb/s and playing dod with a ping of 40-60 :D

    edit - ping seems to be 80-100 on busier servers, but it doesent spike so its still very playable
     
    Last edited: 30 Mar 2003
  5. Psilonaught

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,978

    Location: London Town

    was looking to get something like this but hopefully will be getting 2Mbit next month which would mean being able to max out most IRC connections and still give 30-40 pings :p
     
  6. Acolyte

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: Bristol

    [​IMG]

    :( :(

    Anyone know what i could do to fix it?
     
  7. sik

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,491

    Location: Worthing

    Wait for the next beta, or reinstall Windows, it maybe that your Windows Kernal is messed up, or the Beta can't find something that should be there.
     
  8. Deathwish

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,956

    Location: Cold Scotland :(

    Report it to their forums. URL in my first post :)
     
  9. Acolyte

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: Bristol

    how does that work?
    something to do in the way packets are sent?

    if its even slightly over that ping will turn to rubish?
     
  10. Sone

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,647

    i upped the limit to 40,000 bps and it made gameing unusable, pings wern't to bad, but it was spiking like crazy, if i limit it to 20,000 i get perfect gaming even on busy servers, but 30,000 seems to be a good compromise of ping vs download speed
     
  11. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    And confirms my point that Windows was fully capable of this all along.

    I'm sure this product will develop into a well respected bandwidth manager. And looking on the 'Future Enhancements' section of the website has this line:

    "June 2003
    Configurable filter queue sizes. This will effectively give control over latency vs packet loss. "

    .. seems to suggest something along the lines of your beloved Linux dsl_qos_queue :)
     
  12. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,380

    Well thats alnost linux's last reason for existing wiped out then:) brilliant!
     
  13. SDK^

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,682

    Just use a download manager like Get Right.
    Set it to throttle your downloads @ whatever speed you like.
     
  14. Acolyte

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: Bristol

    very true i was considering posting that, beat me to it :mad: :p
     
  15. Lostie

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,984

    Location: Cheshire

    It's called playing catch up, but until it calculates TRUE bandwidth (eg. ATM frames for ADSL rather than TCP/IP) then it will remain nowhere near as good :)
     
  16. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Possibly true, but definately not in the sense of the OS.. The capability has been there since 9x, albeit a little more hassle to the programmer, NT really added the icing on cake for it.
     
  17. Vai

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,347

    Excellent, I am going to install this on my server now :)

    How much is this slowing your download and upload speeds by?
     
  18. barlymarly

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Dec 2002

    Posts: 451

    Location: Birmingham

    this program completley screwed up my comp. It was asking me about the page file and all sorts. As soon as I booted in safe mode and unistalled it everything was fine.

    btw i'm running xp without sp1
     
  19. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Why no SP1? Might be worth trying with it...

    Also remember its only Beta, so might be worth reporting this problem on their forum.
     
  20. BassPunk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,081

    Location: Saffron Walden

    i tried getting this to work for an hour with 3 comps and it does work

    try it :p
     
    Last edited: 8 Apr 2003