1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

alpine advice...hu swap..

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Teledude, 14 Jan 2006.

  1. Teledude

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,847

    Got an Alpine Cassette in my A4 atm...if I were to purchase an Alpine CD Player how easy would it be to install it myself? Would I need wiring adaptors etc?
     
  2. Human Torch

    Banned

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 177

    Location: At my PC most days!

    just an ISO adapter tbh! Its an aftermarket tape player i take it, not the original Audi one!? They removal keys from the CD player might fit the old HU otherwise you'll need to source some!

    If it is an aftermarket one, then you wont even need an ISO adapter as there should already be one there (as long as previous installer didnt butcher the wiring!)
     
  3. cleanbluesky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Nov 2004

    Posts: 24,654

    Wiring loom adapter, possibly fascia adapter at a guess...
     
  4. Teledude

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,847

    Nope its an aftermarket one. How easy is it and how do I take the old one out?!! Looks like there is a small fascia thing round the edge of it for fit...
    Wiring loom adaptor? Sorry never even contemplated installed ICE before :p
     
  5. andi

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,712

    Location: Manchester

    Should be straight forward, slide the old one out, slide new one in. You need some keys to remove the old head unit, Halfords, or you'll probably get some the same when you buy the new one.
     
  6. Teledude

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,847

    Doesnt sound too bad :D

    What the cheapest CD one that plays mp3's etc?

    ALP-CDE9845RB any good for £99?
     
  7. cleanbluesky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Nov 2004

    Posts: 24,654

    Pioneer 3700MP has done me well.

    http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/3290.html

    Two criticisms are that if the text scrolls, I dont know how to make it do so and it has volume buttons rather than a knob. Other than that its really cool and about £80 delivered
     
  8. Teledude

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,847

    Will different makes swap in ok? Or is it best to stick to an Alpine?
     
  9. cleanbluesky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Nov 2004

    Posts: 24,654

    Dont quote me but I believe all modern aftermartket head units have wiring looms that conform to the same plug... so if you have an ISO adapter for your particular car then you will be able to fit anything as long as you use both the HU loom and the adapter loom...