1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alpine X305 problem

Discussion in 'Motors' started by ScarySquirrel, 10 Jun 2010.

  1. ScarySquirrel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 23,605

    Location: South East

    Hi all,

    I just installed this unit in my car. Every time I start the car up again the unit has lost all of it's memory, so for a start I have to manually turn it on, and then all of the time, date, settings have all been reset.

    I'm thinking I've probably wired it up incorrectly but hoped someone could point me in the right direction.

    Thanks.
     
  2. iaind

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 14,814

    Location: Exeter

    Just swap the 2 live feeds over:)
     
  3. ScarySquirrel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 23,605

    Location: South East

    I wish I knew what that meant :(

    Oh, and if I don't swap them over, will I do damage to the unit. I just can't be bothered to take it all out and swap them over now because I have some cables for the steering wheel stalk coming and I'd rather just change them over when I take it out to put them in. If that makes sense?
     
  4. Begbie

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Oct 2004

    Posts: 25,010

    Location: ....

    Won't do damage, the manual should have a wiring guide. They normaly just unplug, swap the two over and you will have a constant live feed to the HU.
     
  5. iaind

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 14,814

    Location: Exeter

    No damage, just a pain in the arse.

    The stereo has 2 live inputs, one permanent and one that comes on and off with the ingition (switched). The permanent one is there to keep the settings when the car is off, so if the 2 are the wrong way around you'll get the symptoms you describe.

    My old X001 had bullet connectors on the loom so you could just swap them over - red and yellow IIRC but check the manual
     
  6. ScarySquirrel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 23,605

    Location: South East

    The bullet connectors came off when I was faffing with the wires. So I had to tie them round each other and secure them with electrical tape. I might just go out and sort it now.

    Thanks all :)

    EDIT: All fixed. Thank you
     
    Last edited: 10 Jun 2010