1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ALWAYS RESETTING CMOS

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by funkyphantom, 8 Mar 2006.

  1. funkyphantom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 1,277

    Hi guys, system specs: abit fatality an8 sli, 7800GT, 1gig corsair plat 440025pt, 74gig raptor hd.

    My problem is, ive been bluescreening quite alot lately, but computer usually restarted fine, and got me into windows. But now, whenever i blue screen i have to reset the CMOS every time. This also happens if i push the reset button, if i restart through windows, or even if i turn my computer off, and then back on. all bios settings are on optimal. Any suggestions as to what i should do would be most appreciated.
    Regards
     
  2. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Tried a BIOS update?
     
  3. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 16,977

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    This is quite common with Abit. Does it freeze when you try to save changed BIOS settings or does it simply fail to recognise them after a restart?

    If it's the latter then you might need a new CMOS battery, if it's the former you may need to RMA the board.
     
  4. funkyphantom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 1,277

    It seems to fail to recognise anything, and another thing i forgot to say is that whenever it restarted (when it used to restart without resetting bios) the windows clock would go to 00.00. Ive flashed the bios, but that was a while ago, could you link me to a stable BIOS if possible......
    regards

    *update* i noticed that the error on the blue screens are PAGE_FAULT_IN_NON_PAGED_AREA which apparantly are related to RAM issues mainly, so i took a stick of RAM out, and was able to run my comp without any blue screens, after an hour or so i swapped the RAM for the other stick and found i had no end of problems. I then downloaded memtest and ran it on the stick that caused me problems, left it on overnight, but no errors were found :( im really confused, could this be a memory problem, a mobo problem, or something else?......
    thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: 9 Mar 2006
  5. funkyphantom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 1,277

    sussed it, dodgy stick of RAM.
    cheers for help.