1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

AM2 doesn't look worth the wait?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Monstermunch, 28 Mar 2006.

  1. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    Found this today, i'm sure it may have been posted already but anyway:

    http://www.anandtech.com/weblog/default.aspx?bid=279

    Just confirmed my original thoughts that DDR2 wouldn't offer an increase, mainly because of the crap latencies.

    Stuff I have read recently leads me to thinking that i'm better off with good ol' 2-3-2-5 PC3200 instead of PC4000 or upwards and then running a divider.
     
  2. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Get a Conroe instead :)
     
  3. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,700

    Location: Wiltshire

    AMD will probably bring out a new revision of Athlon at the same time, but either way, it's not going to make a huge difference.
     
  4. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed


    YES YES YES. finally someone with sense. now go into the memory forum and pimp that fact mate, im on my own in there atm
     
  5. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    Im going to have to disagree, DDR2 is really starting to take off, if you buy cheap DDR2 then yes its not brilliant but Corsair have DDR2 modules that can do close to 400mhz (DDR800) at 3/2/2/8.
     
  6. GAMEfreak

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 759

    Location: Newry, Northern ireland

    thats better than my ddr1 500 kit which does 3-4-4-8 at stock, so it does look like theres potential, although, i still think its not worth it, considering the HT bus on amd chips...
     
  7. =assassin=

    Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2005

    Posts: 220

    In terms of it affecting S939 prices, AM2 is worth the wait! ;)

    I'm slowly saving cash up for a budget gaming system (have been for months now) and a cheap venice core S939 Athlon 64 is what I intend to get!
     
  8. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    Why considering the HT bus on amd chips, the way they run is going to be changed on AM2 its going to be high freqs and low multi's to allign with DDR2.
     
  9. Soul Rider

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Nov 2005

    Posts: 434

    Location: Milton Keynes

    When AM2 is released DDR2 will be developed in much greater depth, and you will see much better timings. Look how long it took for DDR1 to start producing really tight timings.

    But yes it won't be as good as the Conroe chips when they come out.
     
  10. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,499

    Everything is hyperthetical at the moment until much nearer release (imo) and remember the initial chipsets are never particularly stable or fast until a few months into release.

    By this time next year AM2 may well be "The Thing To Have" ( I say we should all say TTTH from now on hahahaha)

    Dont get me wrong conroe may be fabulous and it could be Intel's turn to knock the performance ratings on its head again - but they are hugggggee and they need to eat humble pie for a while yet I personally think
     
  11. woodsy2k

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,547

    Agreed there mate.

    I also like the idea that AM2 will bring the price of S939 down alot over time, as has been mentioned, making the really fast chips quite a bit cheaper as well.

    Bring it on is all i can say.
     
  12. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,499

    Fair point but with little or no developement going into the presently hi speed s939 chips once AM2 comes out, in a years time why would performance related peope like us be interested ( remember we are talking 2007 and later) I cant see s939 being of much interest myself - unless its for an MCE budget rig or something

    Just my opinion mind
     
  13. S_D

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 358

    The main thing to remember about AM2 is that it's AMD responding to the shift in memory manufacturing towards DDR2 more than anything else. They have almost been forced to do this, so they have to make the best of it. As DDR2 starts to really improve in high speeds and lower latencys we'll see AMD's architecture benefit as a result, and by launch AM2 should really be able to go from where S939 leaves of (although I accept of course that S939 is going to be with us for a while after that).

    Simon
     
  14. Delvis

    Caporegime

    Joined: 7 Nov 2004

    Posts: 28,871

    Location: Buckinghamshire

    Currently DDR2 only have about 5% or so give or take extra performance over DDR1, indeed there are "SOME" modules that run a hell of alot better, but you'd have to shell out for them...I think once DDR2 is out for a bit longer, and the memory manufacturers have more to work on in terms of amd boards and intel boards, DDR2 will shine, for now theres now major reason to switch to DDR2, unless the AM2 platform boosts DDR2's performance in a way that hasent actually been shown yet...Meh, im happy with buying my standard DDR so hey :p
     
  15. Delvis

    Caporegime

    Joined: 7 Nov 2004

    Posts: 28,871

    Location: Buckinghamshire

    Oh and yeah whens AM2 supposed to be out? or has it been pushed back or something...
     
  16. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,700

    Location: Wiltshire

    June/July last time I heard.
     
  17. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,530

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Yeah there is talk of increased cache but it won't be anywhere near enough an improvement to get near the Conroe by the looks of things.

    I'm expecting Intel to not only be performance king, but value king and the overclockers choice all at the same time once Conroe is out. Something for everyone.

    Jokester
     
  18. PinkFloyd

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Sep 2005

    Posts: 14,293

    Location: Bradley Stoke, Bristol

    I still think AMD are hiding something.
    AMD other than releasing the dual cores havent had any major architecture changes recently. Its possible that they may have just kept it quiet, just image the blow that Intel would take if they released Conroe thinking they are comfortably the best.
    Then out of nowhere AMD release something seriously special.

    -can always hope anyway
     
  19. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    lol - i agree - its always been the case that latencies are preferable to speed when it comes to a64 - why would ddr2 be any different?


    amd will be releasing low power versions of the dual core and single core chips which should overclock very nicely (from what ive read anyway)
     
  20. Dunky

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 380

    Location: Glasgow

    But, do you not think that AMD know about DDR2 latencies and will have tweaked the memory controller accordingly? When DDR2 latencies drop further (they are fairly low as it is...as stated we have modules that do 3-2-2 @ DDR 667 IIRC), AMD will probably release another revision of the memory controller to account for this.