1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

amd 4600x2 what stepping you got

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by slap ed, 27 Jul 2006.

  1. slap ed

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 746

    Location: swadlincote

    as title got my 4600 today but was a little dissapointed to find it is a year old 05 30 .what did everybody else get ?
    secondly am i right in thinking amd dropped the wattage the later ones used ?
     
  2. marv_1

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 195

    Location: Weston Super Mare

    Last edited: 27 Jul 2006
  3. slap ed

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 746

    Location: swadlincote

    big difference in weeks ?
     
  4. marv_1

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 195

    Location: Weston Super Mare

    Dont know to be honest, I havn't started overclocking it yet.
    I want it to bed in along with my ninja and AS5
     
  5. slap ed

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 746

    Location: swadlincote

    what temps you got marv 1 ? mines idleing at 49 centigrade i might try and reseat as think that is quite high :confused:
     
  6. marv_1

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 195

    Location: Weston Super Mare

    Mines idling 40-43 and load 50 (53 for prime), I reseated my ninja about 5 times and still same temps and using correct amount of AS5.
    Asked for peoples thoughts in the cooling forum see this thread

    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17605413

    Comes down to hot weather and AS5 needs to bed in.

    What Heatsink r u using anyway?
     
  7. slap ed

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 746

    Location: swadlincote

    zalman 9500 aeroflower :)
     
  8. dark4orz

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 319

    mmm, that is quite high, the stepping i got was CDBHE 0530MPMW, mine idles around 28-29c on a full load around 33c, sorry but I did create another thread regarding this....
     
  9. dark4orz

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 319

    and possibly more likely an E4 Stepping like mine...
     
  10. marv_1

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 195

    Location: Weston Super Mare

    I was thinking of getting that one but went for the Ninja

    Thats good temps on your one what cooler and paste r u using?
     
  11. dark4orz

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 319

  12. Mud

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,186

    Location: Bristol

    Mine says:

    ADA46DAA5BV
    CDBHE 0530MPMW
    1295984H50201

    Is that good? :confused:
     
  13. marv_1

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 195

    Location: Weston Super Mare

    Now I see why, that a 240mm fan in there? no wonder yours is cool.

    Ive got an Akasa eclipse 62 with 2 x 120 fans in it and my mb temps are lower than my previious case.

    As I have been told its to do with hot weather and paste needs to cycle and settle. Will see how it is after a few days.

    That does seem high for idle, are u using the zalman paste? might just need to bed in same as mine but reseating might do it
     
  14. bluesouljah

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2004

    Posts: 710

    Location: Essex

    Just got home with mine, its a CDBHE 0530MPMW. Haven't put it in yet. Going to do it later, so I'll tell you what temps, It'll just be the standard HSF.

    Cheers,

    BlueSoulJah
     
  15. dark4orz

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 319

    yes its a case with a 250mm fan with 120mm intake, 120mm rear with a 120mm top blowout on my Lovely DFI Venus...
     
  16. dark4orz

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 319

    it looks cool so far
     
  17. Mud

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,186

    Location: Bristol

    Gah, stupid Asus A8V, can't find an app to tell me the CPU temperature in Windows. :rolleyes:
     
  18. sunderland

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,521

    Location: co durham

    sorry for jumping in but got mine today is there any special driver you have to put on for dual core i no there is a optimizer driver for it but is there any other. and my temps are running at 35 and 36 idle with standard HSF
     
  19. bluesouljah

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2004

    Posts: 710

    Location: Essex

    Got it installed. I've put the driver in and getting some weird stuff from MSI Core centre. It's showing between 590Mhz then 2411, then 4233. CPUz shows two cores both at roughly 2411. Am I to presume that Core Centre was created prior to dual core and its freaking it out? Is there some better software I can get for this? Sorry for the Newb questions, but I'm a dual core newb. Idle is at 36 degrees according to Core Centre.
     
  20. slap ed

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 746

    Location: swadlincote