1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD 64 3700+ San Diego or 4000+???

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Mark A, 15 Jan 2006.

  1. Mark A

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 18,015

    Location: Lancashire

    Hi,

    I'm going to be upgrading my agp setup to pci express around march and want to get a faster cpu to match the 7800gt ill be getting. Im wondering if its worth splashing an extra £100 out on the 4000+, is it worth the extra?.

    Asus A8N-SLi Premium nForce4 SLi
    Corsair 2GB DDR XMS3500LL Pro TwinX (2x1GB)
    XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition 256MB GDDR3
    Samsung SpinPoint P HD080HJ 80GB SATA-II 8MB Cache
    Pioneer DVR-110DBK 16 x 16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter
    Enermax Liberty 500W ELT500AWT ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant PSU

    this is the rig im hoping to put together if it makes any difference, id like to save a bit if i can, also feel free to make any comments on my chosen spec.

    cheers

    mark
     
  2. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    god no. whats the difference between them, 200 mhz?
     
  3. Mark A

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 18,015

    Location: Lancashire

    thats what i thought but why is there a £100 gap?, do the 3700's overclock badly or something?, im not much of an overclocker but might want to have a dabble some day.

    Mark
     
  4. melymel2789

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Aug 2005

    Posts: 139

    Location: Cornwall

    3700+ clock great, too fx 57 speeds easy. The 4000+ is pretty much pointless. At stock you wont realise the difference to the 3700 and i dont think it overclocks any better.
     
  5. Klo

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Nov 2005

    Posts: 4,006

    Location: South East

    As you get higher in the power, the gaps between each product increases comparitivly each time to the last increase. (If that makes sense)
     
  6. lemonkettaz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2005

    Posts: 11,814

    i have 3500

    would going from this to 3700 be worthwhile... or what?

    or should i just keep my money for 6month and goto dual core?
     
  7. Uhoh

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Jan 2006

    Posts: 80

    I have the 3700+ so it HAS to be better :)
     
  8. Mark A

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 18,015

    Location: Lancashire

    exellent :) , thanks for the replys, youve saved me £100, more views welcome as itll be a month or so before i order. Also any views on the parts above or should i start a new thread for that?.

    cheers

    Mark
     
  9. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Why not clock your 3200?
     
  10. Mark A

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 18,015

    Location: Lancashire

    Well the thing is id like to use my current pc as a backup system, ill be needing a new cpu anyway so i thought id get a more powerfull chip so theres no bottlenecks with the 7800gt ill be getting.

    Mark
     
  11. pegasus1

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,015

    Location: UK PLC

    Depends as to the games you play as to were the bottleneck will be, if you want to play FEAR at 1600x1200 maxed out then your 7800GT will be the bottleneck but if its RTW with massive army's then your CPU will feel the pain.
     
  12. Mark A

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 18,015

    Location: Lancashire

    I play FEAR, FAR CRY, HL 2, Quake 4, Doom3, COD 2, ect, what i want to do is build a system that will be future proof for a while as i dont think pci express will be superseded for a good few years, i can then always upgrade to a dual core later on and get a new gfx card when mine wont cut it. At them moment I'm limited to AGP and also id just like to upgrade because this mobo has an annoying problem where it sticks at boot up then a siren sounds :mad: . Do you not think the spec I'm after is muck better than my current spec?.

    Mark
     
  13. pegasus1

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,015

    Location: UK PLC

    Get GEil Value RAM and the money saved will get you a 7800GTX which will help with FEAR far more than a higher CPU clock (the Geil value will hit highish HTT given enough volts and its cleared to 2.95V, i run mine at 2.9V and it ran prime for 8 hours before i turned it off).
     
  14. Mark A

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 18,015

    Location: Lancashire

    Cheers, ye i have geil value in at the moment and it seems ok, so what cpu would you reccomend then along with the geil value ram and 7800gtx?, im not on a budget as such so a 3700+ is perfectly within reach if its worth the extra over another 3200 chip.

    Mark
     
  15. jdc

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Sep 2003

    Posts: 190

    Location: Location, Location (Berks)

    You'd get the same grunt for less £££ by going for the Epox NF4 SLI or Ultra board and an overclocked opteron 144. Use the money on a hotter graphics card. I think that would buy you better games perfomance on what you play.
     
  16. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

    the 3700 SD is a great chip mine has clocked to 3ghz while my opteron 146 can only manage 2.8ghz. :)
     
  17. pegasus1

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,015

    Location: UK PLC

    The problem is that you cant be certain what you are going to get out of an Opteron until you try, ive never as needmorespeed says, heard of an 3700 SD giving less than 2.4 on a std cooler.
    Opty's are great but they are a bit of a lottery.
     
  18. Mark A

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 18,015

    Location: Lancashire

    Thanks for all the help people :) , i think ill go for the 3700+ and the Geil ram, (maybe the corsair 3200c2pt 2x1gb) and maybe a gtx.

    Mark