1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD 64 Dual Core Patch???

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by zach2k6, 23 Jan 2006.

  1. zach2k6

    Associate

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 37

    Location: Newport, South Wales

    After playing GTA: San Andreas for a while. the game starts to stutter.

    Someone said I need a patch for windows because I have the AMD 64 4400 X2.

    Does anyone know where I can get the patch?

    Im running windows XP SP2.

    thanks
     
  2. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,262

    Location: Manchester

    is that xp pro, or xp home ?
    off the top of my head xp home doesnt support dual cores, whilst xp pro does.
    i may be wrong ?
    maybe that is where you heard of the patch ?
     
  3. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,556

    Location: Autonomy

    Install the patch and install the x2 driver from AMD's site.
     
  4. zach2k6

    Associate

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 37

    Location: Newport, South Wales

  5. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,556

    Location: Autonomy

    Dual Core Gaming Fix Guide



    There is a certain amount of stuttering or random speedup/slowdowns while running dual core CPU's in single threaded games. The reason for these problems has to do with power management in some form or another, as these fixes are designed to address specific power management issues. This thread is intended to consolidate a number of fixes I've come across in this forum and elsewhere.

    Fix #1 - The AMD Driver ( /usepmtimer switch)

    1. Install the AMD Processor driver found here:
    http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors...1_13118,00.html
    AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Driver for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 Version (exe) 1.2.2.2 (or other driver depending on your OS).

    This driver will add the /usepmtimer line to your boot.ini file. This will both fix problems in some games (BF2) and will raise problems in others (WoW). So depending on what games you are playing, you might have to edit your boot.ini to reflect the game you are playing.

    2. Add the /usepmtimer switch to your boot.ini file manually
    Right Click My Computer
    Properties
    Advanced Tab
    Startup and Recovery -> Settings
    To edit the startup options manually, click edit -> Edit

    This should bring up a .txt file with your boot.ini file



    Add the /usepmtimer as noted above and it will do what the driver does for you. If it is already there and you still have problems, you might want to take it out and try again, or try one of the other fixes.

    Fix #2 - The Microsoft Hotfix

    NOTE: This Hotfix is only for Windows XP w/SP2 per the documentation at the link below

    Install the hotfix file found at one of these mirrors:
    http://exphose.com/upfiles/1/Window...-v3-x86-ENU.exe
    http://www.evilkitty.org/misc/Windo...-v3-x86-ENU.exe
    http://static.hardwareluxx.de:443/h...-v3-x86-ENU.exe
    http://techtype.msfnhosting.com/win...-v3-x86-enu.exe
    http://www.perambula.net/res/Window...-v3-x86-ENU.exe

    If you need to disable the hotfix, edit the registry as noted here (specifically note #7 which details how to deactivate/activate the hotfix):
    http://support.microsoft.com/Default.aspx?id=896256

    Specifics as to what is being done from the power management side of things can be read at the link above. These are just the changes that need to be made in the registry. Also note that in the DWORD value box, you enter a "0" to disable the power state created by the hotfix and enter a "1" to enable it. For the purposes of fixing the games, enter a "1".

    Fix #3 - Set the Affinity Manually

    Finally, the last and least glorious of the fixes is to manually set the CPU affinity of certain programs. This can be done in several ways.
    1. Alt-Tab out of your game, CTRL-ALT-DEL to the Task Manager, Under the Processes tab, right click the .exe file for your game and go to Set Affinity, Uncheck CPU 1.

    2. Use a program such as Win2000/WinXP Launcher to load games. (Available here: http://www.majorgeeks.com/Win2000_Launcher_d438.html or http://www.majorgeeks.com/WinLauncherXP_d870.html). This will allow you to set the CPU affinity before loading the game, which is useful for games that don't respond well to Alt-Tabbing.

    3. Use an affinity masking tool such as ImageCFG (http://www.robpol86.com/Pages/imagecfg.php for instructions on how to use). Backup your .exe before using this program. Imagecfg has a problem with some directories with spaces in them, so its easiest to stick it in the folder with the *.exe file you want to change. Then use the command you need (knowledge of the DOS prompt is a must ):

    imagecfg -a 0x1 game.exe for core 1
    imagecfg -a 0x2 game.exe for core 2

    This will alter your .exe file, so make a backup of it. Especially since future game patches might not work with a patched .exe.


    Alternate Fix #4 - Newer video drivers for your graphics card
    If you're using an Nvidia video card. Download one of the Forceware 80 series drivers which are dual core optimized. Latest are available here:
    http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp
    Some older drivers may/may not work with some games/benchmarks and dual core processors.

    ATI drivers available here:
    https://support.ati.com/ics/support...dge&folderID=27
    I would assume dual core support to be forthcoming in future Catalyst releases.





    :) all you need to know
     
    Last edited: 23 Jan 2006
  6. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,262

    Location: Manchester

    oh wel... you learn something new every day...
    does that apply for intel dual core CPU's ?
    do i need a patch for my xp pro ?
    it seems to utilize the 2 cores perfectly

    Rick
     
  7. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Really it applies to all multi-processor systems (so that includes any dual core CPU, yes).

    In all cases it is caused by the host software (in this case, GTA) not being coded properly in the first place.

    The hot fix provided by Microsoft is just a workaround for such third party software where patches have not been issued.

    People always say it is caused by power management but that is only half the story really. It is mainly caused for 1) Cool'n'Quiet/SpeedStep and 2) Context switching the SMP-incompatible game process.

    Both cores in a dual core CPU (or dual, quad, etc CPU system) have differing timings (because the first core gets powered up by the BIOS but the second/additional core(s) are only powered up by the Windows kernel probably a few seconds after the first one). This means that games like GTA could be running fine to start with, but then say there is some "substantial" CPU activity that occurs in the background which causes the scheduler to juggle things around a bit - and as a result your game wakes up on the other core which it wasn't anticipating. This throws out all of the game's _assumptions_ about the timing of the core, so gameplay is adversely affected. Usually this means the game runs either super fast or super slow.
     
    Last edited: 23 Jan 2006
  8. zach2k6

    Associate

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 37

    Location: Newport, South Wales

    Thanks for the info.

    1) I updated Graphics Driver
    2) Updated CPU Driver
    3) Install Hotfix

    So Far everything seems fixed, ill play for a bit longer just to be on the safe side.
     
  9. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,289

    I have yet to have any issues when running my 165 opty. Installed it and rebooted then everything has been fine. Didnt need any drivers or anything. Funny how this isnt affecting everyone. Noticed the new cat drivers had dual core support so I might try them and see it it performs any better.
     
  10. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    What games do you play?

    It seems that mostly old and EA games do not have support for SMP systems.
     
  11. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,289

    I play FEAR, Far Cry, Doom 3, BIA Road to Hill 30, Heroes of the Pacific, CoD 1 + 2, GTA Vice City, IL2 Commanche 4 etc and other older games like Close Combat etc. Jeez do I own any non violent games.
     
  12. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,262

    Location: Manchester

    thanks for the info guys...
    Natham where the hell do you learn this stuff mna ?
    im curious just how you get all this info... also maybe being a bit nosey lol
    thanks all the same
    im gonna try nand get sum fixxes ( i dont hink i have any probs atm though ?>) when i get home form these crappy restricted college computers with 15 year old serial mice lol !!