1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (AM2 v 939)

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by djcj, 19 Jun 2006.

  1. djcj

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,418

    I am thinking of buying an am2 system when conroe comes out for a cheaper option. I have been comparing prices between s939 and am2 components and came across the AMD Athlon 64 3800+. All other 939 & am2 chips are very similar in price apart from this. The s939 version is £196.17 Including VAT and the am2 version is £99.82 Including VAT. Why is s939 double the price? Is there a massive performance difference?
     
  2. Stelly

    Don

    Joined: 5 Oct 2005

    Posts: 11,045

    Location: Liverpool

    I would go AM2 since its future proof since AMD will be bringing out all future chips on the socket

    Stelly
     
  3. =assassin=

    Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2005

    Posts: 220

    There is no massive performance difference - depending on the RAM used the AM2 version might be a fraction slower, but nothing massive. The main reason for the price difference is that AMD wants to get more AM2's sold for awareness of the new socket over the S939 version, plus the S939 version is kept artificially high because the San Diego 3700+ and 4000+ are staying higher in price (AMD chose not to do price cuts on 1Mb cache cores).
     
  4. feriso

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,872

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Makes me wonder - I was thinking of changing to a 939 x2 from my winnie - would it be worth changign to the AM2 as well??? Though I'd need new ram as well wouldn't I?
     
  5. deshepherd

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Sep 2005

    Posts: 811

    Are you sure you're not comparing a S939 3800X2 vs a AM2 3800? AMDs "post-conroe" prices seem to be coming through now on single cores (thus 3800 has almost halved in price) but the dual cores still seem to be holding to the old prices. Thus while 3800 and 3800X2 used to be about the same price the 3800 is currently much cheaper than the 3800X2. (Hence, I'm delaying my proposed upgrade for another month!)
     
  6. djcj

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,418

    Yes, i'm quite sure..
     
  7. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    The AM2 socket is the replacement for Socket 939

    The CPUs on each socket are clocked the same with the same amount of cache. The only difference is that AM2 uses DDR2 memory and S939 uses DDR memory

    In some cases the AM2 setup can be a fair bit quicker, in other cases it can be a little slower all due to the memory used

    As AM2 is the new socket and all future CPUs come out on this socket I would build a PC around AM2. As the AM2 chips are cheaper this is just an added bonus!
     
  8. L_D

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 290

    Location: Glasgow.

    To clarify - are you comparing dual core AM2 v's dual code 939, or single core AM2 v's single core 939?

    The £196.17 Including VAT price you mention, sounds like a dual core 3800+, whereas the 99.82 Including VAT price sounds like a single core.

    It could also be the retailer you are sourcing from has made a pricing error?
     
  9. feriso

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,872

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Yeah - coz on ocuk the AM2 3800x2 is ~£210 and the 939 3800x2 is ~£185
     
  10. djcj

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,418

  11. turbotoaster

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,194

    hes on about single core for both
     
  12. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    You'd need a new board, new ram, new cpu, new gfx card.
     
  13. feriso

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,872

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    I have the ASRock SATA board which I keep meaning to swap out with my AV8 so i can go PCIe later as well
     
  14. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    I was talking about if you were to go AM2
     
  15. L_D

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 290

    Location: Glasgow.

    The prices should be around £100 for either 939 or AM2 3800 single core now. The prices just havent been updated by the looks of it.
     
  16. Jabbs

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 7,727

    Location: Rugeley

    Too good a price to miss for me, going to get a AM2 mobo and 3800cpu as already got 2gig ddr2 667 ram.
     
  17. roadie

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 May 2003

    Posts: 2,742

    Location: Hampshire

    Yeah, OcUK are pretty uncompetitive when it comes to 939 prices at the moment. Around the web the retail 3500+ and 3800+ prices are high £70's and high £90's respectively. Hopefully they'll fall in line soon.
     
  18. taqies

    Associate

    Joined: 24 Jun 2006

    Posts: 1

    Yerp, waiting for it to fall in prices for a new build.. ;)