1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

AMD Athlon™ 64 FX-53

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by uknorthboy, 5 Feb 2006.

  1. uknorthboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 351

    Would a pc based on this "AMD Athlon™ 64 FX-53" cpu be considered as near top of the range? Also with 2gb ram, 7800gt graphics.

    Strongly thinking about it.
     
  2. lemonkettaz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2005

    Posts: 12,138

    whats the rest of the spec?

    and what price...?
     
  3. uknorthboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 351

    complete spec =
    Brushed Aluminium ATX Midi Tower +550W PSU
    ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe PCI-Express Mainboard - ATX
    AMD Athlon™ 64 FX-53 with HyperTransport Technology
    2048MB DDR400 Memory - PC3200 (2x1024)
    200GB Serial ATA Hard Drive with 8MB Buffer
    SONY 16x Dual Layer DVD-Re-Writable +R/-R/RW
    256MB nVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT - TV-Out + DVI - PCI-Express
    Viewsonic 19"TFT.
    Cost approx £1100.00 without the monitor
     
  4. Mr Mister

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,670

    the fx53 is the 130nm process and doesnt have support for SSE3. If i were you i would build one myself. The fx53 is equal in power to the athlon 64 4000 which is now made on a 90nm process. Plus i think it needs ecc ram?
     
  5. uknorthboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 351

    Thank's for that info
     
  6. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,084

    Location: Rutland

    Just get a 3700 San Diego, runs 200Mhz slower at stock but will clock better and run cooler.
     
  7. Mr Mister

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,670

    ive come up with this:

    CP-121-AM AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3700BNBOX) (CP-121-AM) 1
    £135.95 £135.95
    HD-048-WD Western Digital Caviar Special Edition 200GB 2000JS SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-048-WD) 1
    £54.95 £54.95
    CA-054-LL Lian-Li PC-7 PLUS Black Aluminium Midi-Tower Case (No PSU) (CA-054-LL) 1
    £49.50 £49.50
    MB-111-AS Asus A8N-SLi Premium nForce4 SLi (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-111-AS) 1
    £104.95 £104.95
    CD-024-NE NEC ND4550 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter (Black) - OEM (CD-024-NE) 1
    £25.50 £25.50
    MY-046-GL GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS3 (GE2GB3200BDC) (MY-046-GL) 1
    £99.95 £99.95
    FG-000-AR Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro CPU Cooler (Socket 754/939/940) (FG-000-AR) 1
    £14.95 £14.95
    CA-002-SS Seasonic S12 600W Silent ATX2.0 Power Supply (CA-002-SS) 1
    £87.95 £87.95
    GX-112-SP Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-112-SP) 1
    £309.95 £309.95
    Subtotal £883.65
    VAT £154.64
    Total £1,038.29

    Its cheaper in total and includes the 3700 which is only 200mhz slower but can easily be overclocked. Its got 2gb ram and most importantly pretty much the best graphics card on the market.
     
  8. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,774

    Location: Brighton

    CP-121-AM AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3700BNBOX) (CP-121-AM)
    £135.95 £135.95
    MY-046-GL GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS3 (GE2GB3200BDC) (MY-046-GL)
    £99.95 £99.95
    CA-038-LL Lian-Li PC-7 PLUS Silver Aluminium Midi-Tower Case (No PSU) (CA-038-LL)
    £49.50 £49.50
    CA-005-HP Hiper HPU-4K580-MK Type R 580W Modular ATX2.2 PSU - Black UV (CA-005-HP)
    £49.95 £49.95
    HD-017-SA Samsung SpinPoint P SP2004C 200GB SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-017-SA)
    £57.95 £57.95
    CD-028-NE NEC ND4551 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter (Silver) - OEM (CD-028-NE)
    £28.70 £28.70
    MB-118-AS Asus A8N32-SLi Deluxe nForce4 SLi X16 (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-118-AS)
    £124.95 £124.95
    GX-112-SP Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-112-SP)
    £309.95 £309.95
    Subtotal £856.90
    VAT £149.96
    Total £1,006.86

    This is quite a bit faster for games and £100 cheaper, so you could afford a 20inch widescreen monitor too instead of the 19inch viewsonic.

    Edit: Beaten by Mr. Mister
     
  9. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Gonna need some better RAM kits for overclocking though guys. G.skill ZX or HZ to replace the GeIL :) - then that rig is complete.
     
  10. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,084

    Location: Rutland

    Its not essential TBH, just use a divider and you probably won't see much difference.
     
  11. sativa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,389

    Location: UK

    Uses normal ram i.e. non-eec
     
  12. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    True, I for one advocate dividers but How far will the GeIL go and the timings are quite poor so the ZX is a good option. It's still within the budget :p.
     
  13. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,084

    Location: Rutland

    The geil will do 2.5-3-3-7 timings and clock a little way on them with a bump in Vdimm. If he can afford the ZX I'd probably go for it, but it won't be a huge boost.
     
  14. Havana_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Oct 2004

    Posts: 4,916

    Location: location, location

    In my second PC I use the GEIL 2GB kit.

    Runs fine at 2.5-3-3-7 1T @ 210MHz @ 2.8V

    Hav
     
  15. Dirk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,930

    I'd say Mr Mister nailed the spec if you like the idea of saving a bit of money off of your original spec. Smids is correct if you don't mind giving up some of the saving on better RAM.

    Are you likely to get into o/clocking and will you be catching benchmarkitis? If yes there is a chance you'll be shopping for better RAM soon anyway so you may as well spring for it now!
     
  16. uknorthboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 351

    No I wont be overclocking dont have a clue how too :)
     
  17. james_earl

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2004

    Posts: 438

    Location: South Norfolk

    chose the right forum to post on then ;)
     
  18. uknorthboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 351

    I would have thought a question regarding the "AMD Athlon™ 64 FX-53" cpu" was the correct forum :D
     
  19. Havana_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Oct 2004

    Posts: 4,916

    Location: location, location

    Agree - I think someone (*cough* james_earl *cough*) is a mister grumpy pants this morning!

    Hav
     
  20. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    james_earl was making a funny comment on him posting in a forum called Overclockers UK - and he intends not to overclock. Did you guys miss the joke or just add your own bad jokes to the equation :p :D.