1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4400

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by nicebutdim, 19 Jan 2006.

  1. nicebutdim

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 6

    Hi there not upgraded for a long time and im after a bit of advice please, i have about £350 to buy a new cpu and was considering the amd 64x2 4400, would this be my best value for my money, cant really overclock so its factory settings for me, thanks in advance for any replies.
    Tim
     
  2. Sel

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2003

    Posts: 433

    Location: Stoke

    I'm also thinking of an upgrade CPU or Graphics Card but I don't know which would be better.

    My specs are
    MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum nForce4 Ultra
    AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Winchester 90nm
    Ati Radeon X850 PE
    2gig Giel Ram
    Enermax Noisetaker 485W or maybe 370W not sure.

    Will a Duel core CUP fit in my Board and if so what would be the max it could take.
     
  3. noxidjkram@hotm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,447

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    Yes the processor will. And the board is new enough that it shouldnt need a BIOS update.

    Depends what you do with your computer as to whether GFx or Processor.

    If you game, then GFx. If you encode files then Processor.

    M
     
  4. noxidjkram@hotm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,447

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    4400 is the best bang for buck in the range - the larger cache makes a big diff over 4200, which really isnt worth it over the 3800.

    M
     
  5. Webzta

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,144

    The dual core opteron 165 through 175 are also a good option, as they all come with the 1meg cache that the 4400+ has, for less.
     
  6. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,556

    Location: Autonomy


    the 165 runs at only 1.8 ghz so if he is not overclocking then I would steer clear of this cpu.

    Great if you were overclocking though
     
  7. Strings

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Jun 2005

    Posts: 388

    Location: Scotland

    The X2 4400 also has great potential for overclocking, but stock should see you fine with 2.2GHZ. Just double check that you don't need to flash your BIOS, its always best you do it beforehands.
     
  8. mattio1980

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 480

    Location: south uk

    yeah good chip mines does 2640 maxed out but do look at the opty range they will oc even more as they are better silicon 175 i think is 2.2ghz and it's about the same money so id go 4 one of them if i was u
     
  9. Webzta

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,144

    Even if you're not overclocking, It' doesn't take an expert to raise the speed 400Mhz, especially as these chips will EASILY run at 2.2 (4400) stock speed, and outperform as the fsb will be higher. Hell you could even just raise multi, voltage maybe one notch.

    Just something to think about, as it's a considerable difference in cash.
     
  10. area512003

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Dec 2003

    Posts: 557

    Location: Leeds, UK.

    My X2 4400+ does 2.72GHz on Air -idle 29C Load 37C using the Thermalright XP90C. ;)
     
  11. nicebutdim

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 6

    thanks for the replies lads
     
  12. Sel

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2003

    Posts: 433

    Location: Stoke

    Could you clear up something for me if a game carn't make use of 2cores will it still run faster using 64x2 4400 than a 64 3500?

    I run Racing Sims mostly which I think need more CPU than average games.
     
  13. noxidjkram@hotm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,447

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon


    They have the same clock speed, so in this case there probably wouldnt be any difference.

    If there were any other tasks running on the PC (background or otherwise) these could be taken care of by a Dual Core though, so the Dual Core may still win out slightly.

    Some games already take advantage of dual core, and others will come out soon. Dual Core is better from a future-proofiing point of view.

    M
     
  14. bikes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,590

    Location: on the road

    Is there any good/bad steppings I should look out for?
     
  15. noxidjkram@hotm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,447

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon


    Not sure - you may get a better response on this if you post in the Overclocking forum.

    M
     
  16. bikes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,590

    Location: on the road


    Ooops, cheers matey :)
     
  17. Sel

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2003

    Posts: 433

    Location: Stoke

    Thanks for all the help it's been usefull.

    I think I may go for the CPU as I don't feel the Graphics card is maxed out yet as others report higher FPS using the same card with slightly faster CPU.
    I may hold on for a while and see what happens as I can live with the FPS for now.

    I'd really like to see what difference the new Physics chip will have in New Sims
    again I may just wait and see.
     
  18. HighlandeR

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,077

    Location: England

    I noticed no difference going 4400X2 from my 3500A64 either, id say apps open up more snappier and quicker but otherwise feels the same/similar.

    As with anything I think dual core still needs to take off, I just hope Vista/Games make use of it and its not another 3dnow/MMX stunt ;) Which I doubt it will be!

    For now id say 3500 + is a good buy, or a nice A64-4000, or wait for the new Socket M2 AMD processors....