1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

AMD FX-8320 3.5mhz- What temps?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by jnmann, 22 Dec 2013.

  1. jnmann

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Jul 2009

    Posts: 85

    Sorry, where in CPUID can I see the CPU speed?
     
  2. ALXAndy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2010

    Posts: 10,700

    Location: West Sussex

    Where it says core speed.
     
  3. cheesyboy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Dec 2012

    Posts: 14,120

    Location: Gloucestershire

    Don't worry too much - worst case is likely that it will throttle to a slower clock speed.

    If it does look to be throttling, you can improve the situation with a fan blowing over the VRMs or buy an aftermarket VRM heatsink (and add a fan).
     
  4. woody79

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Sep 2003

    Posts: 384

    AMD FX 8320 3.5 seems too hot

    just fitted thi cpu with a corsair water cool kit,and idle temps are show in bios as 46 c
    dont seem right to me with a good cpu cooler.
     
  5. ALXAndy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2010

    Posts: 10,700

    Location: West Sussex

    Bios puts a load on your CPU, it's nothing to be alarmed about.
     
  6. Josh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Oct 2013

    Posts: 10,368

    Location: Surrey

    Mine is currently sitting at 19c idle, under load it goes to around 35c with a H80i cooler, when it was OC'd to 4.3ghz it was 30c idle and around 50c under load.

    Download the Corsair Link software and set it up, probably a better more true temp reading than Bios.
     
  7. woody79

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Sep 2003

    Posts: 384

    thankyou was going to re seat it.
     
  8. ALXAndy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2010

    Posts: 10,700

    Location: West Sussex

    Always check it in HWMON before going nuclear :) You want to look at the CPU temp and just as importantly, the package temp.