1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amp wiring kit

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Stinky, 3 Feb 2006.

  1. Stinky

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Mar 2005

    Posts: 9,174

    am going to get one day.

    i will be getting a 1000watt amp. so i guess i need a 1000watt kit.

    what sort of price am i looking at for theses? and what brand should i aviod?
     
  2. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

    is the amp 1000w peak or RMS
     
  3. Stinky

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Mar 2005

    Posts: 9,174

    SPLX 1000W AMPLIFIER

    i am not sure now :eek:

    (i know its SPLX, but its cheap - £35) and it will do for now as i have hardly any money)
     
  4. Stinky

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Mar 2005

    Posts: 9,174

  5. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

  6. monkeyspank

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,274

    Location: cambs UK

    I got one from an auction place for my 1000W (500W RMS) amp. autoleads pc4-27 720w kit, came to £14.50 delivered. Perfect for the job. You get a bit more speaker wire than the CAD one, and some speaker crimps.
     
  7. xcessive

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2003

    Posts: 1,548

    Location: kent

  8. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

    True that would be a good idea but he will also have to buy a distribustion block and some 8 guage wire the wiring is gonna cost more then the amp ROFL :D
     
  9. Stinky

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Mar 2005

    Posts: 9,174

    lol....

    just need something that will run the amp. need the amp for the carpc sound ;)

    later i might get some subs.
     
  10. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,288

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    Lol some 16 guage should do fine then.....

    Depends how big the connections on the amp are, if you buy 4 guage and you can't connect all the 4 guage then its kinda pointless.

    Knowing that the 1000w figure is not rms i would be tempted to go for 8 guage cause its easier to run in the car.
     
  11. monkeyspank

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,274

    Location: cambs UK

    Agreed, 8 guage is enough for that sort of power. Although 4AWG would give the headroom needed for a bigger amp.
     
  12. Vanilla

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,184

    Get the smallest kit you can, you wont need a big one!

    Quick question - what fuses does that amp have?
     
  13. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

    from one pics it looks like just one green fuse probably about 30amps :)
     
  14. Stinky

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Mar 2005

    Posts: 9,174

    i have got a Autolead one.

    1200watt from motoworld.

    how ever i just got home and relised its a two channel. :eek: i wanted a 4 channel. do i need a total new kit or can i just add something to make it into 4 chan???
     
  15. monkeyspank

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,274

    Location: cambs UK

    You just need another phono lead for the other 2 channels.
     
  16. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

    you just need another set of rca leads if you want to run all 4 channels
     
  17. Stinky

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Mar 2005

    Posts: 9,174

    so another phono lead and that ???

    so keep this kit and get the rest sometime ?
     
  18. monkeyspank

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,274

    Location: cambs UK

    Yeah. You might struggle to find a kit with 2 sets of phono leads anyway.
     
  19. xcessive

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2003

    Posts: 1,548

    Location: kent

    I bought an Autoleads wiring kit a couple of months ago.
    The wiring kit was one that enabled me to wire up 2 amps (it came with a fused distributer bock and a couple of distributers).
    That wiring kit cost me £40 (it was a 4 guage wiring kit), it came with a normal cables as well as a couple of meters of extra power cable and about 3 RCA cables.

    EDIT: It was this wiring kit
    http://www.caraudio66.co.uk/product...396619198387516508912037&firstsel=&variation=
     
    Last edited: 3 Feb 2006