1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

an itx in this ?

Discussion in 'Case Central' started by knowlesy, 4 Oct 2009.

  1. knowlesy

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2006

    Posts: 4,665

    Location: Newcastle

    Im looking at a possible rebuild of my whs and this case seems to be best for its price and sheer amount of hdd bays plus possible further expansion with a 3x5.25 bay to 4x3.5 bay converter, giving it an epic 10x bays for hdd goodness.

    Now Im wantng to get the case now but in the next 6 month I can see me getting a atom motherboard to power my whs for sheer power efficency alone, now this says

    case in question

    mini itx in question


    Compatible motherboard types ATX, Micro ATX & Extended ATX


    could i still pop an itx in or get some sort of mount maybe ? or any suggestions would be ace !
     
  2. Ducky Spud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,720

    Location: Teesside

    I would imagine there are still mounting holes but thats just my mind, no reason for thinking that :p

    You could always drill a couple more holes in the case if need be, might have to use some little nuts to hold on the stand offs unless you could make the holes threaded, but shouldnt be too much trouble
     
  3. knowlesy

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2006

    Posts: 4,665

    Location: Newcastle

    if its as simple as that .... sorted


    if not im after you ducky !!! :D
     
  4. Ducky Spud

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2009

    Posts: 1,720

    Location: Teesside

    Hey, I'd say get a second opinion first haha!

    But yea, if the mounting holes are not there and you dont mine drilling holes in your new case, it cant be much harder than that can it? :p
     
  5. knowlesy

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2006

    Posts: 4,665

    Location: Newcastle

    I dont know thats why Im asking lol :p

    but yeah I see your point, Ive asked some one else (Kona*) and he reckons that most mini itx will fit in micro atx .... so the blame will be shared dont worry haha :D
     
  6. mdjmcnally

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 May 2004

    Posts: 1,598

    As it doesn't say ITX then I would contact akasa directly and ask.

    There is a link on contacting akasa on product page you linked too.