1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Annoying Firefox Problem.

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by slipd, 13 May 2006.

  1. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,375

    Location: Hampshire

    Hi guys,

    My Dad has this problem on Firefox (Latest version) when he accesses random web pages?

    Say if he loads bbc.co.uk and then jumps to ebay.co.uk he gets ‘the server cannot be found’ etc error a quick refresh and its fine, it loads. This is happening quite frequently and on totally random sites and pages?

    He’s on UKOnline with a Netgear DG834G.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers,

    SW.
     
  2. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Is it the same with IE?
     
  3. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,375

    Location: Hampshire

    Hi tolien,

    Thanks for the relpy ;)

    I don't know about IE, I've tryed to wean him off it :D

    I'll get him to give it a go and see what he reports?

    Does it sound like a familiar problem then?

    SW.
     
  4. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    It doesn't matter whether it's IE or anything else, as long as it's a different browser.

    Could be lots of things...
     
  5. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,375

    Location: Hampshire

    I'll get him to try out some different variations of browser and I'll report back ;)

    Cheers,

    SW.
     
  6. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,375

    Location: Hampshire

    It appears to be the same with ALL the browsers he's tried?

    IE, Firefox and Opera...

    SW.
     
  7. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Try different DNS servers then.
     
  8. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,375

    Location: Hampshire

    Thanks for the reply tolien ;)

    Could I use my Pipex servers on his connection - I've never had any problems with mine?

    Cheers,

    SW.
     
  9. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    It's worth a try. I'd normally suggest Zen's and Plusnet's, but it would appear they changed their setup to only allow recursive queries from within their own networks.
     
  10. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,375

    Location: Hampshire

    Failing the use of mine, are there any free ones out there that i could try?

    SW.
     
  11. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    There's 194.72.9.34, 194.74.65.68, 194.74.65.69 (ns5,ns6,ns7.bt.net, work from here) for a start.
     
  12. sven256

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,077

    Location: manchester

    happening to loads me included:(

    its a known issue no eta on being fixed.

    quick edit its not your browser its ukonline.
     
  13. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    if you have problem with dns try TreeWalk i think its called that.
     
  14. Wossi

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,996

    Location: East Mids.

    I have the same problem at work, doens't matter which browser I try, Opera, Firefox or IE. It's only my pc aswell, the other pc's in the office are fine. I'm blaming it on Netscaliber being a useless bunch of ********