1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another X-Fi question

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by M!!cook, 3 May 2006.

  1. M!!cook

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 2 Nov 2005

    Posts: 229

    Location: stockport, cheshire

    I am wanting to upgrade my sound card as i just got my PC165 headset through and i want to use it off the sound card and not usb, i also want to use my surround sound.

    Confused? good.....
    during the day (when sick ;) ) i want to have it on my 5500 then parents go to bed missus gone home, i need the headset. but.... i dont wanna be routin round the back of my pc to swap them over.

    Can i have my speakers connected to the card and then when i want my head set on, connect that to the front?

    any help would be wkd!
     
  2. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,810

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    There is an option in the software for auto-sense headphone connection, but I don't know if that means around the back in the actual card. I know when I plug mine in I go under the desk and whip out the connection for left/right speakers and plug my headphones in there.

    Perhaps someone may know for defo? :)
     
  3. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    hey mate

    the X-Fi control panel has got "auto mute speakers" in the headphones section :)

    as soon as you stick headphones into your machine it will mute the speakers.
     
  4. M!!cook

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 2 Nov 2005

    Posts: 229

    Location: stockport, cheshire

    Ok, Thanks for that!
    But... if the auto mute takes place, where do the headphones plug in? in the card of the X-Fi front unit. If in the back i have my speakers in there.
     
  5. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    not sure mate, using speedlink medusas here and they've got their own amp thingy...
    could always just turn off your speakers?
     
  6. Day03

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2006

    Posts: 398

    I've got the speakers and headphones plugged in at the same time, get a splitter for the 3.5mm jack
     
  7. M!!cook

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 2 Nov 2005

    Posts: 229

    Location: stockport, cheshire

    using the spliter... will that decrease the quality?
     
  8. Steveh_monkey

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 310

    I've used a jack plug splitter for ages, I don't think there's any decrease in quality, and if there is, it's not noticeable.
     
  9. M!!cook

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 2 Nov 2005

    Posts: 229

    Location: stockport, cheshire

    any more info on the splitter you use?
    My question other question... the front unit for the card. can i plug my head set into that? and if so will that automute the speakers?
    love yall!
    honest!
     
  10. split

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2002

    Posts: 3,534

    Location: Dorset

    I made a post here on the methods I have used to set up speakers / headphones.
    It has types of splitter in.

    If you want gold plated, then you can buy it.