1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Antec PSU's

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Killajaz, 5 Mar 2006.

  1. Killajaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,368

    Location: Sweden&NYC

    I did some searching in here and with google trying to determine if they are good for oveclocking?

    I like antec because they are quiet and good quality. However are they good enough for overclocking? As in stable 12v rails that do not drop to 11.3 once you start pushing v-core and so forth.

    cheers
     
  2. lee87

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2005

    Posts: 2,592

    I have a old Antec Smartpower 400W ATXv1.3, it is about 2 years old and can still overclock my X2 3800+ to 2.55ghz on 1.4V.
    All the Voltage rails are stable and the 12V never goes below 11.97 or above 12.03.
    Haven't pushed the vcore any higher than 1.4V so not sure if it would be stable.

    I would say any of the new Antec psu's should be good for overclocking.
     
  3. Killajaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,368

    Location: Sweden&NYC

    excellent!
     
  4. Nazbit

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,870

    It depends how much you want to push, if you want to push all the way to the top and your psu never to be a factor then you need to look elsewhere.

    If your just doing a little bit of overclocking then they can handle it.
     
  5. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    FSP ARE good.... BLUESTORM 500W
     
  6. Killajaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,368

    Location: Sweden&NYC

    Right, Ive narrowed it down to the following options:

    Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-480PEC
    Antec NeoHE 500 EC ATX12V
    Antec SmartPower II SP-500PEC ATX 12V

    Smartpower being quite alot cheaper than the Truepower, and the Neo which is about £7 more.

    This will be in a spec consisting of one Raptor, one WD Caviar 250 gb S2, NEC 4550A dvd writer, X1800xt, ASUS A8N-E and an opty 165 which I plan to reach FX60 speeds with.

    Should do the job right?
     
  7. div0

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,606

    Location: Edinburgh

    Dont the NeoHE's have some quality issues?
     
  8. Chris Y.

    Associate

    Joined: 4 Dec 2005

    Posts: 30

    Location: UCLA, California

    I've had the Antec NEO 480watt PSU for about 6 months now and its been working really great for me...the PSU is really quiet and the modular design really helps to keep the case tidy...
     
  9. J.T

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,227

    Location: Earth

    I would stay away from the Antec Neo He PSU's if you have an ASUS Motherboard.

    Just do a quick search on Google for "Antec Neo He and Asus Motherboards"