1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any opinions on o2 broadband?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Freakitchen, 18 Jun 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nick1881

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Feb 2007

    Posts: 9,650

    Location: Nuneaton, UK

    Your already over 20mb, not sure if its limited or it would go even higher with a lower SNR, you must be right next to the exchange to get those line stats.

    I'd be tempted to get a Netgear DG834GT and use custom firmware and lower the SNR to see what happens.
     
  2. zzzJonny

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Sep 2008

    Posts: 466

    Anyone know if it's still possible to get interleaving disabled?

    The live support guy insists it's impossible for him to do it, but told me that Be can do it since they're "smaller and more managed".
     
  3. mrbios

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Jun 2003

    Posts: 16,006

    Location: Engerland

    I'd say that's aload of twaddle considering with BE you can change it yourself without the need for tech support to do anything at all!

    Don't see why o2 can't implement the same thing
     
  4. mp260767

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2003

    Posts: 10,871

    Location: telford, shropshire

    think i've read that it can be done they just need a lot of encouragement to do it :(.
     
  5. aaazza

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Sep 2003

    Posts: 928

    Location: Bedfordshire

    Migrating tomorrow, it will be interesting to see how much things get better.

    aaazza
     
  6. Bane

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,612

    I've migrated away from O2 Access and gone with Fast.co.uk, who I was originally going to go with before I found out about the £70 Quidco offer with O2.

    Went live yesterday on Fast's connection and browsing is noticeably faster. Not done any speedtests yet and still to try World of Warcraft to see if latency is any better.

    Bear in mind if you want to migrate away from Fast.co.uk in under 12 months you have to pay for the migration code. So hopefully it doesn't deteriorate.
     
  7. zzzJonny

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Sep 2008

    Posts: 466

    I don't think they're allowed to charge you for a migration code.
     
  8. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,890

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Probably won't be a charge per sae for the migration code, but as far as I am aware most ISP's will charge you an "early release" fee if you want to leave within the first term of your contract. I think some are pro rata based depending on how many months you have left before the contract is up, but also some ISP's may well charge a flat rate, I am not sure.

    So rather than charging directly for a MAC code, which I believe is against the law, it will be something like the above. :cool:
     
  9. drphibes

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 329

    Been on the Access package for about 6 weeks now. First month or so was great with good pings and download speeds but the ping has gone bad now. During the daytime I get 35ms pinging bbc.co.uk but during the evening this goes upto around 120ms. Spoke to o2 and they have agreed that a problem exists on the Access product and upgrades are planned and hopefuly they will arrive in March. At the moment I would say it is not a good time to move to o2 Access and it would be advisable to wait and see how things improve in the next month or so.
     
  10. Clairvoyant

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,140

    Location: Torbay, Devon, UK

    ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
    Connection Speed 9992 kbps 1256 kbps
    Line Attenuation 39.0 db 21.3 db
    Noise Margin 5.2 db 6.5 db

    with my DG834GT flashed to DGTeams F/W

    Had a little bit better speed of the o2 box.I will reboot in a day or so. then tweek again.
     
  11. FerociouS

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 May 2005

    Posts: 2,042

    So how secure is the WEP key password o2 Provide you with?
     
  12. Hyper

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,535

    Location: Newcastle

    WEP can easily be cracked but its alot better than having no security at all.

    I am not sure if you can enable WPA on it though?
     
  13. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Not a lot. At best, it'll stop someone automatically connecting, but it's no real security.

    Yep. They do WPA2 as well.
     
  14. FerociouS

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 May 2005

    Posts: 2,042

    Yeah i read somewhere that WEP isnt very secure, any idea how i go about getting or setting a WPA2 password?
     
  15. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    It's in the router's web interface somewhere, I can't remember where. As for generating a passphrase, use something like pwgen - you want something with a lot of digits and random.
     
  16. FerociouS

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 May 2005

    Posts: 2,042

    Cheers for the info :) i will look into this.
     
  17. Dewotter

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Nov 2008

    Posts: 2,164

    I have substituted with my own router but If i can remember accessing the advanced wireless settings is done by: Home Network, it will now show a list of ethernet ports and the 54mbps wireless, click that. In the next page click Configure in the top right. You can use WPA2, change SSID etc.
     
    Last edited: 18 Feb 2009
  18. Clairvoyant

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,140

    Location: Torbay, Devon, UK

    ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
    Connection Speed 9445 kbps 1274 kbps
    Line Attenuation 39.0 db 21.3 db
    Noise Margin 6.8 db 6.3 db

    Not tweeked, but I had better speeds on the o2 box only 10mb but still. :(.
     
  19. GSDog

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2004

    Posts: 5,465

    Location: Surrey

    Have you tried following this guide; http://www.dslzoneuk.net/socket.php
    Some people have gained quite a bit from disconnecting wires 1, 3, 4 and 6 from the master socket and extension sockets.
     
  20. wsh

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 858

    I'd like to warn anyone thinking of going with O2 who hasn't got LLU at the exchange.

    At peak times I cannot download faster than 30KB/sec. I've contacted O2 and I have to pay £50 for early disconnection since they are still providing me with a service.

    The whole network needs upgrading and there is no timescale for a fix.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.