1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anybody having Steam issues recently?

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by basmic, 8 Jun 2006.

  1. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    On NTL, and Steam won't connect. All I want to do is finish off Half-Life 2: Episode One. :mad::mad:
     
  2. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,313

    Location: Plymouth

    My kettle seems ok :confused:

    Edit: Hey, you meanie Dons moved it while I posted :( :(
     
  3. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Dammit, thought I was either in Network or Games forum.

    Could a (kind) Moderator shove this thread to the appropriate forum.
     
  4. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    :p:D
     
  5. Jumpingmedic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 1,509

    Location: Behind you!

    Steam's connecting ok here...
     
  6. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    [​IMG]

    That's all I'm getting.

    It was working fine until today. Nothing has changed, at all.

    All I want to do is play a game which I have paid for. Nothing more, nothing less. :mad:
     
  7. Tican

    Soldato

    Joined: 14 Apr 2003

    Posts: 5,707

    Location: Leicester

    Not working here either (NTL).

    NTL are having problems recently though :rolleyes:
     
  8. monkeypants

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,811

    Location: A lake!

    I'm getting that too on BT.
     
  9. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Great!

    Any ideas as to how I can play my game with needing my Internet connection to be as fit as a butcher's dog?
     
  10. neoboy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Mar 2004

    Posts: 12,443

    Location: UK

    Everything works fine here on NTL too.
     
  11. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Charming!

    Now Steam's support pages are telling me "The login ID and password combination you provided is invalid." :mad::mad:
     
  12. Arsey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,498

    Location: Wimbledon

    Cant you use steam in offline mode??
     
  13. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,501

    Location: In a house

    Yes you can. :confused:

    Just start it up when your not connected, and it will ask if you want to start in offline mode, say yes, then play Ep 1. :confused:

    Ive never been connected to the internet when playing HL2/Ep 1.
     
  14. Snow-Munki

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,047

    Location: At home

    problems here to, UK Online here.

    ever since i heard about new half life :(
     
  15. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,262

    Location: Manchester

    im on NTL, no problems here... although i do get terrible spikes in my ping on soem servers :mad:
     
  16. Street

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2005

    Posts: 7,817

    Location: Liverpool

    Have you tried deleting the ClientRegistry.blob file in the Steam folder? Worth a shot:)
     
  17. king_kenny

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 381

    Location: NortH ShieldS !!!!

    Fine here am on BT :confused:
     
  18. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Connected now - not sure why now, but I'm not unloading Steam today. ;):D
     
  19. Azagoth

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 24 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,698

    Location: R'lyeh

    Not having that particular problem, but in CS:S when I click on the 'Find Server' option the server box appears and then the game freezes with the sound looping in the background. I have to push the re-boot button to get out of it.
     
  20. toString

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,930

    Location: London

    Steam has been up and down for different sets of people today. Just have to keep retrying until you can log on.