1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone got a 2006 CPU yet?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by loltim, 28 Jan 2006.

  1. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,600

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    Got my X2 3800+ yesterday, whipped the IHS off the same day( :o ) and noticed the stepping indicated being made this year. Might be some uber silicon or something:p So, anyone else using 2006 silicon?

    I'll let you know how overclocking goes.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Chris19

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Dec 2005

    Posts: 570

    maybe thats just the silicon for x2 chips?
     
  3. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,120

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Tradionally CPUs made over Xmas/New Year are poor clockers because QA goes down due to the festivities :p

    Jokester
     
  4. Solouko

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Aug 2005

    Posts: 598

    Location: North wales near Rhyl

    speaking of silicon, what's the actual differance in terms of electrical properties, material, production/purification/doping, performance between standard Athlon 64 silicon and Opteron Silicon, because somone mentioned in passing that the opteron silicon is better for some reason, and i'm wondering why/how?
     
  5. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,120

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    There's no specific difference, but it's supposed that S939 Opteron cores are speed binned for running at lower voltage. They're otherwise identical cores, same production line and same core design. Just that run produced better performing chips.

    Jokester
     
  6. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,600

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    bah:p

    Well i'll be cranking it up later, not afraid of volts so should be interesting:cool: I've seen these 3800's hit 3GHz but some won't even do 2.5GHz.

    I've seen 2005 week 30 X2's. Not sure if they were made any earlier, its the first 2006 CPU I've seen or heard of.
     
  7. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,600

    Location: Wellington, NZ

  8. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,415

    Location: Midlands

    that core could be 2005, the day the heatspreadder was slapped on could be the date stamp.
     
  9. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,600

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    Maybe? But that then goes against everything we say and hear about the good steppings ie. CABYE 0540.
     
  10. Zephyrus

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Oct 2005

    Posts: 518

    Location: Scotland

    Wouldn't that put the cat amongst the pidgeons :D
     
  11. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,600

    Location: Wellington, NZ

  12. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 14,874

    Location: Higher Walton

    Hmm weird, all FX60's i've seen recently have been around 0536 or so aswell didnt think 06 silicon was around
     
  13. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,600

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    Right, 0601 silicon is nothing to shout about I'm afraid. 2.6GHz 10hr stable (see above) but core0 fails Prime at 2.7GHz, core1 carries on but thats not much use.

    I'll probably try 1.65v+ just to see what happens but for now, 2.6GHz it is, could have been better, could have been a lot worse. Still a 600MHz overclock, just need to fix this stutter now, I've seen the XP32 fix but no XP64 fix?!?