1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone here on bulldog ?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by derbyjake, 19 Jan 2006.

  1. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    I signed up for a new line with bulldog before xmas

    so im on the 1 month contract and going to give it a try out can cancel if its not very ***,

    but what speeds have you lot found

    a line in the property connected to thus 1mb

    had 50 attn

    and 30snr both ways (they could be the other way round)

    any ideas what i would get ?
     
  2. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    If they're the other way round, it'll make a fairly significant difference :p
    That said, 50dB attenuation is significantly more likely than a 50dB SNR. Would expect significantly more than 1Mbps.
     
  3. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    i guess its a wait and see kinda thing ? all depends how they route me back to exchange etc ?
     
  4. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Yup, it'll depend on your line (routing, crosstalk, etc etc etc).
     
  5. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    does having more then one adsl line in the building reduce the speeds of the others ?

    ie 2 others down the incoming cable
    if bt decide to split it again
     
  6. daz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,014

    Location: Bucks

    I'm on the 8mbit LLU service (Brixton exchange... maybe not many net users? :o) and get 850-900KB/s from a decent server. :)
     
  7. Naan_H

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,526

    Location: LDN

    Im on LLU in liverpool, and i am having problems, but i dont think its bulldogs fault at all, the BT line i had into the flat i moved into was bad in the first place by the looks of it. I have called bulldog many times and they have been very helpful,with their engineers calling me back within an hour telling me what they intend to do to stop my disconnections. They have been friendly and very helpful and customer service has been good.
     
  8. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    all sounding *** lets hope i get a *** line and speeds :D
     
  9. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    No more than any other lines attached to the exchange.
     
  10. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    even if the the cable comes into the building and the masters are side by side using the same cable coming into the building ? ie 2 to one master 2 to another and 2 to the new one ? bt seem to like doing this saves them doing alot of cabling
     
  11. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Yes...
    It might be the same "cable", but it'll be a different pair for each line.

    If you're referring to DACS, ADSL doesn't work with it. Both lines will be dedicated copper pairs.
     
  12. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    ok cheers for your advice mate,

    ill see what speeds i get with bulldog hopefuly be nice n speedy