1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone know about these TV screen head unit things?

Discussion in 'Motors' started by EddScott, 16 May 2006.

  1. EddScott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,313

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    Quite fancy getting a TV monitor screen for the car. Don't really know that much about them, but quite like the idea of being able to watch movies and TV or just to have one in the first place :)

    Don't really need SatNav as my car hardly ever sets a tyre outside the county and if push came to shove, I'm pretty handy with an old fashioned O.S. map.

    Anyway, if I budget for £500 I'm looking at Ebay 2nd hand purchase. From what I can see the Pioneer AVH5700 looks pretty good and can be had within budget.

    What I can't quite work out is what these things have as standard and what other units I need to get to make it do different things like TV and DVD playback etc.

    One thing I would like though is to be able to use it as an engine monitor. I tihnk HKS do something that can be linked between the ECU and the HU screen (read someone mention it when selling a Subaru P1)

    Anyway, any ideas opinions welcome :)
     
  2. Simian

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,117

    Location: Swindoniantown

    Most (if its says so) do DVD (Region 2) out of the box...
    Some have full 5.1 Amps (including DTS on some rare ones), Others have Optical/Coax out for a DD/DTS Proccie/Amp combo...
    None (in you price range) have TV, You need a TV Tuner plugged in with a Car TV Aerial, Plus the TV's only usually work at either under 2mph or only at a stand still!!!...
    Some have a Touch Screen, some don't!...

    Cannae think of anything else!... (Sure someone else will be allong soon!! :D )

    Pioneer are Very good!!, Kenwoods ain't bad, Dunno about Alpines!..

    Sim.
     
  3. Gaijin

    Don

    Joined: 18 Feb 2003

    Posts: 8,501

    Location: Brighton/West Wicklow

    Is there a way to get the TV to work at driving speeds? :p
     
  4. EddScott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,313

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    Cheers for the replies. Theres a couple of decent buys on fleebay right now and am watching a Pioneer AHV5700 which is in budget.

    Like Pioneer stuff so am sticking with them. Looked at some of the Alpines but but the one I was looking at only has one pre-out which seems odd.

    The one I'm looking at doesn't have TV but it will play DVDs which is OK. I can always get a TV tuner later.

    Just occured to me because on the weekend I was obliged to take my little one and her friends out to a Farmyard Park and daddy would have had a much better time sat in the car if he could have caught a bit of the Spanish GP :)
     
  5. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

  6. FakeSnake

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,907

    Location: The South West

    Avic-X1 would be just about in your price range. PLENTY of options and inputs.. TV, reversing camera, DAB, ipod to name a few. Touch screen as well.

    I am unsure of the engine dymanics, but the X1 does to Lateral G, Acceleration, angles and a few other vehicle dynamics.

    The added bonus of the X1, is that it has satnav as well, and a damn good one at that!

    So good infact, I purchased it twice!
     
    Last edited: 16 May 2006
  7. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,330

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    Lol, i'm an x1r owner looking to buy another for the second car, great unit but it gets even more expensive once you spec up the TV addon / DAB / Camera and such.

    Some of the cheaper alpine and kenwood screens work well, but expect to pay £500 for just the unit and spend another 200 - 300 on adding features to it, better off getting the x1r in the first place and live without the TV not like you can use it unless you dual zone.

    Oh and just earth the handbrake wire to make it work all the time, mine aint set like this ;)
     
  8. FakeSnake

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,907

    Location: The South West

    My handbrake is ALSO NOT set like this.
     
  9. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,330

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    Good to know :cool:
     
  10. FakeSnake

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,907

    Location: The South West

    I think so, would not even think about breaking any kind of law like that!


    On an aside note, What are AVIC-X1s fetching nowadays.
     
  11. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,330

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

  12. FakeSnake

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,907

    Location: The South West

    thats a good price, I was going to Ebay my X1 for about 500, I have all the receipts somewhere, new in a box :(
    cant believe I paid over 1k for it, and its been installed for 1 week then deinstalled.
     
  13. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,330

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    How come matey?