1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

asrock dual sata do i need anything?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by ~>Dg<~, 16 Jun 2006.

  1. ~>Dg<~

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Jun 2006

    Posts: 32,823

    Location: Notts

    hi all gunna be fitting one of these in my case monday /tues do i need anything which isnt in the mobo box ie software drivers im using a 6600gt agp seen peeps have probs with drivers and stuff which work ok also what bios do i need cause one on disk is first one isnt it ?and dont want booting probs how do u flash it to newer one is it hard thanks.also anyone got a link or good pic showing where all connections go ,no where most go its just the front case buttons power on and reset not sure about.
     
    Last edited: 16 Jun 2006
  2. Mr Men

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 May 2006

    Posts: 9,191

    Location: PSN

    I just got mine from OC last week and it was installed with 1.6 Bios, I aint changed it yet since it seems fine for me, you will get all the drivers on the CD, the manual has decent pictures of where to put everything. Remember to install your AGP driver before installing the card drivers.

    http://www.asrock.com/product/939Dual-SATA2.htm - you can download the PDF manual there

    Also you need to enable DeepFileInfo AGP or something similar in the bios to get your AGP card to work. The only problem I had was when I decided to upgrade the AGP driver using the one on that website, which caused big problems, so my advice is use the one on the CD and dont mess with it unless your really having problems :)
     
    Last edited: 16 Jun 2006
  3. kidloco

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,933

    Location: Lancashire

    have to dissagree on some of the points above, the general concensus is NOT to use the drivers on the CD, download the latest all in one drivers from the chipset manufacturer's website first and the latest BIOS

    -flash the bios ( if your not comftable with this in dos, do it after installing windows, they have a windows flash program on the wensite, it works just fine )

    -install windows ( you will need the SATA drivers if you are using SATA drive ( you can create a SATA driver floopy disk by booting off the bundled CD driver disk)

    -Install latest all in one drivers

    -check the AGP driver is installed in system, its right near the bottom

    -update windows

    -install latest GPU drivers


    then play with overclocking
     
  4. ~>Dg<~

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Jun 2006

    Posts: 32,823

    Location: Notts

    thanks for the input just wanna make sure everything goes smooth first motherboard install
     
    Last edited: 16 Jun 2006
  5. broady212003

    Associate

    Joined: 27 May 2006

    Posts: 97

    Location: Teesside UK

    Hi All, I would just like to say that I too have just installed this M/B on my system, and mine came with the 1.70 Bios, no probs what so ever with installs and software :D However I am using a Amd 64x2 4400+ and am new 2 overclocking cpu's :rolleyes:

    Can anyone who has this M/B let me know how on earth you overclock the cpu with this M/B :confused: Bios setup is abit confusing.

    Also since I have used this M/B, I have noticed that coolbits installs on system, but does not appear where it should for overclocking GPU :confused: would that be a M/B issue or a driver issue for the GPU? the card is a 7800gs agp. any help would be great. :)
     
  6. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    broady212003,
    Might be getting this board end month, so any post intrests me. Big debate is whether to run my SATAII HD in IDE mode :confused: & not bother with hitting F6!
     
  7. [email protected]

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 7,687

    Location: Wiltshire

    you can install windows in IDE mode then when installed install the sata2 drivers then change it to sata mode and it works fine and sata mode give much better performance than ide mode
     
  8. Mr Men

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 May 2006

    Posts: 9,191

    Location: PSN

    I have the same card and coolbits installed in the right place for me.

    As for OC, well I have asked on the main thread for this mobo if someone can do a guide for it, seeing how its quite a popular board I thought someone might do so but no joy so far for us noobs :p
     
  9. broady212003

    Associate

    Joined: 27 May 2006

    Posts: 97

    Location: Teesside UK

    :cool: I have 2 agree with Mr Men, It would be a great idea if one of you guys who has this M/B could do a guide on what 2 do with this M/B as 2 overclocking ;) for newbies

    Ps sry about the sig, it has been removed. :)
     
  10. ~>Dg<~

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Jun 2006

    Posts: 32,823

    Location: Notts

    also some pics of mobo with connections and very clearly labelled instructions and best drivers and so on as it seems to b very intresting thread and shed loads are buying them look at the other thread how many views. :eek: