1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

ASROCK X570 TAICHI - THE RYZEN 3000 MOTHERBOARD GIBBO & 8 PACK RECOMMENDS

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Gibbo, 8 Jul 2019.

  1. Woodsta888

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Sep 2013

    Posts: 2,050

    Location: Exmouth, Devon

    X470 & B450 1.0.0.4 PAtch B BIOS's have just been added, maybe the X370's and B350's today/tomorrow.
     
  2. Blackjack Davy

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Aug 2009

    Posts: 4,865

    This is weird been having the same issues as well. Fans stuck on full black screen, sometimes it would get to the splash screen and then reboot, sometimes got as far as Windows login before it froze/rebooted. Was driving me nuts. Cleared the CMOS etc, still doing it.

    The BIOS the board shipped with was fine the troubles started with putting the 2.10 bios on it it just wasn't stable audio would crackle as well which is sign of memory problems I seem to recall - the issues started if I tried to enable XMP leftit off and it was fine - if you like your 3600 ram running at 2400.

    Anyway thought I'd give 2.50 a try and thank the lord that seems to have fixed it.
     
  3. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jun 2018

    Posts: 959

    Location: Ashton

    Many of those problems were because people would try to load a profile from a previous BIOS version into a new version. For some reason it would create a lot of problems, me included. I started loading things manually since 2.10 and everything works fine. Now it actually seems that 2.50 does not let you load profiles from previous versions, it acts like if it does but nothing changes. Loading from 2.50 to 2.50 works fine.
     
  4. Woodsta888

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Sep 2013

    Posts: 2,050

    Location: Exmouth, Devon

    Yep as Nghtmare says, You have to re enter all BIOS settings manually again and save it as a new profile. Doesn't like older profiles as the new BIOS had extra settings added that aren't in the older BIOS and therefore your profile. If it is memory you can just apply XMP on later BIOS's unless you have OC'd your RAM further.
     
  5. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jun 2018

    Posts: 959

    Location: Ashton

    Exactly. Since I have custom settings and timings I just took a picture with my phone and keep them all there, including the custom fan profiles.
     
  6. fizzy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 1,131

    Location: by my pc. :D

    In my case I've always loaded defaults then redone basic settings manually (XMP and fan profiles) and still had issues with some bioses. Haven't saved anything to profiles to reload. Will see what next version is like once it's out of beta.
     
  7. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,199

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Yup said it numerous times in this discussion the last 4 months, that users should never load settings from previous bios.
     
  8. TerrierHTFC

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Oct 2009

    Posts: 221

    Just came here to query problems with 2.5 and it not booting with it then eventually booting but with the bios reset. Looks like I have my answer, cheers guys.
     
  9. Steampunk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Jun 2013

    Posts: 8,469

    It's a bit weird, because I've seen other motherboard manufacturers (eg Asus) that simply won't allow you to load previous BIOS settings. They just won't show in the load menu and your settings are set to default after a BIOS upgrade. Asrock would save themselves and their customers a lot of hassle if they implemented the same thing.
     
  10. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jun 2018

    Posts: 959

    Location: Ashton

    Thats how it works now in a way. Well it shows but when you load it nothing happens.
     
  11. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,199

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Has anyone tried the new 2.70 bios?
    Apparently because the 2.50 was buggy for some, is been removed.
     
  12. Temi_D

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,167

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    Just installed 2.70, so for so good. The main differences I noticed are CCX overclocking and ECO mode (maybe this was also in 2.50, never noticed), some of the menu items have been cleaned up/put into a sub folder(i.e. CPU LLC settings and advanced fan settings). Also the fan utility thing that detects the lowest fan speed now has a confirmation when you press it (I've accidentally presses it so many times!)
     
  13. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,199

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Going to install it tomorrow, given that have to go through the settings to activate 1usmus powerplan.
     
  14. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,199

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Update. Installed 2.70, set my ram to XMP (3600C16) and the 1usmus settings. Installed latest chipset and the v1.1 of 1usmus power plan. (and selected it).

    Huh the system boosts higher and idles better.
    With 2.70 pref cores work better also, having couple of them running at 4600 on Cinebench :eek: while the other 4 cores on CCD0 were between 4475-4575.
    And that on full load. Up to now on CB all cores were hitting the same speed working in sync, even with 2.50 bios having activated pref core boost and 1usmus power plan!

    Also there are several changes to the bios, with new options to do per CCX overclock also!!!!! Those things weren't there before.
     
  15. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jun 2018

    Posts: 959

    Location: Ashton

    Nice, going to update now
     
  16. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,199

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Hadn't run a single core benchmark because finding it boring, however because of an argument on the other discussion....
    FYI multicore is 7280 with 1usmus powerplan and 2.70 bios. Up from 7230 previously with same settings. On air still with a Noctua D15. FYI a 9000 series CFL needs to clock to 5.2Ghz to get 513 on single core :D

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jun 2018

    Posts: 959

    Location: Ashton

    Personally I used to get higher scored on 2.50 but I'll leave it like this. Was getting above 5100 on multicore and over 520 on single. That dropped now but I dont mind.
     
  18. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,199

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    3800X does have better single core speeds and performance tbh than the 3900X, which on CCD1 no core goes over 4350Mhz.
     
  19. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jun 2018

    Posts: 959

    Location: Ashton

    On Single core, everything Auto my 3800X used to get up to 4550Mhz. Even my latency took a hit with this BIOS, I guess it must be less aggressive compared to 2.50. I still have 2.50 somewhere, but I noticed they removed it from the website so just in case I'll leave it as it is.
     
  20. Woodsta888

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Sep 2013

    Posts: 2,050

    Location: Exmouth, Devon

    I'm the same, used to get 4.6Ghz + on 5/8 cores on ABBA. Now only 1 core hits 4.625Ghz and the rest @ 4.550-4.575. Not bad but not as impressive as ABBA for max boost clockspeed. Never kept the results of benches to compare.