1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

ASROCK X570 TAICHI - THE RYZEN 3000 MOTHERBOARD GIBBO & 8 PACK RECOMMENDS

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Gibbo, 8 Jul 2019.

  1. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2011

    Posts: 2,936

    Thanks alot space monkey I'm not able to find the software on the website ( found some for a x370 ), yeah the BIOS option is still noisy on full load so good news with the software
     
  2. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: 8 Nov 2007

    Posts: 15,168

    Location: Outer Space

    So when you set the BIOS to silent, it still is loud?

    When I made changes within the BIOS screen the fan speed automatically changed, without needing to exit and save.

    Have you check the fan connector on the board, a lot of others have had the same issue and it was a wiring problem?
     
  3. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: 8 Nov 2007

    Posts: 15,168

    Location: Outer Space

  4. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2011

    Posts: 2,936

    hey man yeah had a look its the high rpm when its whinning

    thanks i will use this, saved me an RMA :)!
     
  5. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: 8 Nov 2007

    Posts: 15,168

    Location: Outer Space

    So has the software worked for you now?
     
  6. Shac

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2009

    Posts: 514

    I find setting it to performance is ok but full speed does make it whine.
     
  7. marcus_667

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Mar 2006

    Posts: 1,673

    Location: wakefield

    anyone got any base settings to oc a 3950x on this running a 360 aio
     
  8. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,073

    Location: Rutland

    By and large OCing is pretty pointless unless you just want to chase high Cinebench scores. PBO seems pretty broken too, atleast for me anyway.

    Just tweak your RAM and IF aiming for as close to 1900mhz/3800mhz and tighten down timings.
     
  9. marcus_667

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Mar 2006

    Posts: 1,673

    Location: wakefield

    just wanted to pin it to 4.2/4.3 all core if poss
     
  10. TerrierHTFC

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Oct 2009

    Posts: 221

    And now back to cold boot problems again. It worked for about 3 switch on's then back to normal.
     
  11. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,073

    Location: Rutland

    Same, almost every time currently with the odd successful boot. Keeping an eye out for a new bios.

    Tried tinkering with SOC volts with no benefit.
     
  12. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2011

    Posts: 2,936

    Monkey thank you very much - i can finally relax without headphones on !!
     
  13. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2011

    Posts: 2,936

    BIG UPDATE - SO i got fed up with the fan noise etc - Turns out the SB has poor Thermal pad/compound. I took it off and re applied it and boom - temps drop by 10c and fan slows down ( also the software fix works perfectly as per space monkeys suggestion ) I've ordered Alphacool Thermal pad will report back on performance!
     
  14. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2011

    Posts: 2,936

    anyone managed to get ram stable on this motherboarD? haivng a nightmare running xmp
     
  15. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,073

    Location: Rutland

    Dont run XMP, use Ryzen DRAM calculator.

    What RAM are you using? What speed and voltages have you set?
     
  16. Joxeon

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 4,705

    Location: Uk

    I got 16gb b die stable at 3733 after tinkering with voltages though it was stable at 3800 but had sound crackling and sound cutting out so had to dial it back, if your running 64gb then that puts alot of stress on the imc so will take a bit more fine tuning.
     
  17. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2011

    Posts: 2,936

    I'm back on 2x 16gb any suggestions for inning stock tried RYZEN calculator didn't work, not sure what voltages to touch etc
     
  18. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,073

    Location: Rutland

    SOC at 1.1V, VDDP at 0.95 and VDDG CCD at 1V

    Usually stick Vdimm to 1.4V too. That does depend on what chips your RAM uses.
     
  19. Temi_D

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,167

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    Maybe something somewhere is faulty? Currently running 64GB overclocked with no issues
     
  20. Joxeon

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 4,705

    Location: Uk

    What speed ram do you have?