1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asus Crosshair IV Formula AMD 890FX Motherboard memory????

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by syfer1987, 11 May 2010.

  1. syfer1987

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2009

    Posts: 371

  2. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    Might want to give the shop a call and see what they can do for you.
     
  3. Mr.Fantastic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Aug 2009

    Posts: 1,501

    Location: Internet

    you can't upgrade to 12gb ram since the ATI mobo don't have 3 dual channel slots, unless you want 3 4gig sticks but you will lose one off the ram features which i have forgot the name off.
     
  4. syfer1987

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2009

    Posts: 371

    I was hoping to buy this
    Corsair XMS3 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Triple Channel (HX3X12G1600C9) [HX3X12G1600C9]
    or
    Corsair 12GB (6X2GB) 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 Dominator with DHX+, Supports Intel Core i7 Extreme Edition [CMD12GX3M6A1600C8]
    will any one of these work???
    If these don't work then what the max number of ram can I install?????? I read some ware that this Bord has up to 16gb or ram support is this wright?
     
    Last edited: 11 May 2010
  5. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    The max you can install is 16GB with 4x4GB modules. The board only has four slots, those kits you're listing have 6 modules, two would be useless.

    You might have to wait to get 4GB sticks more widely available, they're fairly rare at the moment. I'd suggest going with 8GB of RAM. Two 4GB dual channel kits.

    Can I ask why you need so much RAM in the first place?
     
  6. syfer1987

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2009

    Posts: 371

    I need the the ram for do doing 3d work in 3d max as everything goes in memory. I also need to know the speed of the ram which speeds should I look at?
     
  7. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    You might be better off with an Intel board if you need all that memory, as it'll be cheaper to reach 12GB as it stands. 4GB dimms aren't really available yet.

    Speed, I'd be looking at PC3-12800 (1600MHz) at least. Lower is fine, but it seems to be about the standard for DDR3 now.
     
  8. syfer1987

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2009

    Posts: 371

    No I cant cant affored an intel thats why I am going for this. I found this would this work
    CMP16GX3M4A1333C9 - 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Dominator, DDR3 PC3-10600 (1333), Non-ECC, CAS 9-9-9-24, DHX, XMP, DF, 1.60V
    would this work ?
     
  9. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    Look at this bundle. Couple that with another 6GB RAM and you'll be there. Not that much more expensive, but should be just as fast/faster with that overclock.
     
  10. syfer1987

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2009

    Posts: 371

    I would go for that but I think the new amd is a better value for money that's why I did not go for that one. Also I need to know if this would work with the bord I really like the Asus Crosshair IV Formula AMD 890FX Motherboard
    CMP16GX3M4A1333C9 - 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Dominator, DDR3 PC3-10600 (1333), Non-ECC, CAS 9-9-9-24, DHX, XMP, DF, 1.60V
    would this work I think it should as its ddr3.
    I would go for this
    *OVERCLOCKED* Intel Core i7 980X 3.33GHz @ 4.20GHz Max / Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7 Intel X58 (Socket 1366) DDR3 Motherboard / Patriot Viper 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 (1600MHz) Tri-Channel Bundle
    but I dont have the money for this my budget so thats why also the
    *OVERCLOCKED* Intel Core i7 920 D0 Stepping (SLBEJ) 4.00GHz / Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Intel X58 Motherboard / Patriot Viper 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 Tri-Channel DDR3 Bundle
    its only a four core cpu where the the new amd is a six core so I would rather have the extra cores as well.
     
    Last edited: 11 May 2010
  11. Tikkabhuna

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 936

    Location: Suffolk/Bournemouth(Uni)

    The quad core i7 will be faster than the hex AMD chips. How much is that 16GB memory costing? Surely it would be around the same price to get an i7 + 12GB and it would probably be faster.
     
  12. syfer1987

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2009

    Posts: 371

    can I ask what the best memory make to with my option are
    G.SKILL Ripjaws Series
    or
    Patriot Gamer Series
    which is the best ?