1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asus ROG X570 Crosshair Dark Hero Release? *** NO Competitor Talk ***

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Lukeys, 16 Oct 2020.

Tags:
  1. Raiden85

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Aug 2020

    Posts: 1,341

    Location: South Wales

    At stock the 5950x is capable of boosting to 5050mhz on a single core and the aida bench doesn't put much load on the cores (at least on the L3 one) so it can have quick spikes to the CPUs max boost clock. 4.9ghz is the official boost speed of the 5950x on a single core but it can automatically pass that when it can.
     
    Last edited: 3 Mar 2021
  2. AStaley

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Mar 2004

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Kent, UK.

    Nope, mines also stock and on the first CCX all my cores boost to 5,000Mhz+ and most cores on my 2nd CCX boost to at least 4,900Mhz with two also reaching 5,000Mhz. I have seen 1 core hit 5.2Ghz but that as after leaving the PC idle and probably only boosted that high for a fraction of a second.
     
  3. TML8

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Dec 2020

    Posts: 4

    Location: Finland

    Those numbers sound very reasonable to me.

    Currently on my work PC so can't check the exact numbers, but my NVMe drives go significantly higher than that.

    If I remember correctly, at least my 1TB 980 Pro pushes past 70 degrees. Then again looking at reviews, this seems to be fairly normal for that drive when under workloads.
     
  4. FlyingScotsman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,241

    Location: Scotland

    What is happening with the stock for the Dark Hero?
    None of these available for months now?
     
  5. hkintheuk

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2018

    Posts: 29

    It's all messed up, squire. I spoke to another e-tailer today who has 40 coming in next month (with over 100+ preorders waiting). 40 folks are going to be happy. I am not one of them. E-tailer said no idea when next order is due after that.
    Basically, Asus are either not making enough, or they are spreading their shipments out very thinly.
     
  6. FlyingScotsman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,241

    Location: Scotland

    Think I will skip it and wait.
     
  7. luggles

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Sep 2007

    Posts: 200

    new BIOS 3302 with agesa 1.2.0.1 is up on Asus site (doesn't seem to be the beta version mentioned before.)
     
  8. Doco

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Aug 2011

    Posts: 1,493

    Location: Ireland

    Odd one here - I cant see the new bios when going to the asus website on my desktop, but am able to see and download it on mobile - just a quirk or has the bios not been officially released ?
     
  9. Raiden85

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Aug 2020

    Posts: 1,341

    Location: South Wales

    Definitely seems to have been released as my Formula also has 3302 that's not in beta, so it seems apart from the 3301 agesa 1.2.0.1 preview a short while ago they went straight to a full release on their website and skipped the beta.

    Seems the regular hero and formula have 3302 available as I updated my board hours ago but its not showing just yet for the dark hero, will probably be updated later.
     
  10. Raiden85

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Aug 2020

    Posts: 1,341

    Location: South Wales

  11. AStaley

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Mar 2004

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Kent, UK.

    I loaded 3302 last night, no problems so far.
     
  12. lovingbenji

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Sep 2008

    Posts: 146

    Location: Paris - France

    Same, working fine. By the way I'm back from PBO bios option from "enabled" to "auto" => less 15°c in OCCT and CR23 and only a few less MHz.

    For me (on my 5950), the PBO is not valuable in regards to the heat generated
     
  13. TML8

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Dec 2020

    Posts: 4

    Location: Finland

    Also running 3302 now, jumped from 3003 that was released in December. No issues so far.

    Since this thread also had discussion about USB issues, AMD has finally (probably) found a fix and it will be included in AGESA 1.2.0.2:

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/m2wqkf/updated_agesa_coming_for_intermittent_usb/

     
  14. lovingbenji

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Sep 2008

    Posts: 146

    Location: Paris - France

    Alleluia !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  15. JABenedicic

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 210

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    Seems some just came in, managed to bag one this afternoon. Could have sworn there were none earlier.
     
  16. Mithrandir41

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Sep 2020

    Posts: 21

    Did you preorder or did it come in stock on the site and you bought it straight up?
     
  17. JABenedicic

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 210

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    It came in stock, I ordered it and its shipping tonight. Was just incredibly lucky I think. One minute none, next I saw 8, by the time I'd finished the order there were 5 left.
     
  18. Mithrandir41

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Sep 2020

    Posts: 21

    hh
     
  19. Mithrandir41

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Sep 2020

    Posts: 21

    If I buy one now, do you think it will be sent directly to me if stock arrives?
     
  20. Mithrandir41

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Sep 2020

    Posts: 21

    When is the Black Hero coming to stock?