1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

asus v9999

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by alan, 15 Jan 2006.

  1. alan

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 145

    Ok, well i have just brought an asus v9999 and i looked on the status of it and the bus is only 4x. Just wondering if it is meant to be this and whether i am able to change it to 8x. My previous card was only 4x AGP so maybe this is the problem?
     
  2. Phil99

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,896

    Does your motherboard support AGP8x?
     
  3. alan

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 145

    how can i tell? yes i am pc noob :p
     
  4. daz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 23,956

    Location: Bucks

    APG 8x to 4x is a very tiny difference, perhaps a few percent at most... If it's defaulted to 4x, I'd have thought your motherboard doesn't support AGP8x. But it's really nothing to worry about. :)
     
  5. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 18,587

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    It should be at 8x (i had a V9999GE) but as already stated if your motherboard only supports 4x then it will be defaulted to that.

    Go into the bios and look under Advanced Chipset Features for a bit called AGP 2.0 speed/AGP 3.0 speed or similar and see if you are able to change it to 8x.

    What is your motherboard make and model?
     
  6. alan

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 145

    erm i have no idea, but it is quite poor pc, so that is proably the reason.

    Also, i have installed this smartdoctor program and it keeps coming up with warnings that the 'VCC' and 'AGPDDQ' is running over 20% of the normal, when i am in games such as cod2. Is this likely to be a problem or is it only normal?