1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Athlon 64 1500+

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by ACESHIGH, 1 Jun 2006.

  1. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    A friend of mine says he may be able to get an Athlon 64 1500+ CPU.

    Anyone know if these are good overclockers?

    Also will standard s939 motherboards support these CPU's?
     
  2. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,882

    Location: Tosche Station

    ....1500?
     
  3. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    The lowest number Athlon 64 I've ever encountered is 2800+. Are you sure you don't mean Athlon XP 1500 which did exist and was based on the Palomino core?

    If it is a XP 1500 (the slowest of all the XP models BTW) it is definitely not skt939. It'll be socket A.
     
  4. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Thats what i kind of thought at first, but it is an A64 CPU.

    A64 s939 - Runs at 1 gig with 512 L2 cache & a 5x multi.


    found some details here ..

    http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12390_na/12390_na.HTML


    Becuase it uses SODIMM ram & the memory controller is on the CPU, i guess that means it wont run on a normal s939 mobo. Ahh well may have to let the opportunity pass.
     
    Last edited: 1 Jun 2006
  5. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Madness, I say. It appears to be an underclocked Clawhammer or Newcastle and as such probably has an 800 MHz HT bus. It's generally accepted that oddball stuff like blade servers deffo won't overclock much.
     
    Last edited: 1 Jun 2006
  6. =assassin=

    Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2005

    Posts: 220

    I wouldn't touch it - looks like a scam as it ain't an official processor, and may not clock back upto decent levels.