1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Athlon 64 3000 good enough for HDTV's ?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Snow-Munki, 20 May 2006.

  1. Snow-Munki

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,047

    Location: At home

    Hi,

    just about to order new parts for my media PC. The CPU, going to get the Athlon XP 3000 due to the low price really, at £72.

    whereas the 3200 is extra £20 for example.
     
  2. OV3RCLOCK3R

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 3 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,010

    Location: MANCHESTER

    It'll be perfect for a hdtv setup. You can always overclock it aswell :p
     
  3. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    Yup, I'm sure you can oc it to 2-2.2 ghz and still be able to lower the Vcore :D

    HOLD ON! Why would you use socket a?? :eek:
     
  4. Snow-Munki

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,047

    Location: At home

    whoops, mean 64. slight typo, going from an athlon xp 1800. :)
     
  5. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    OK, good :) . As previously stated I would overclock it a few hundreds mhz, should do it at stock vcore or maybe you can even lower the vcore. Which is important in a HTPC :)
     
  6. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    Depending on your GFX card, and whether or not DIVX/XVID or WMV, should be fine, however scaling does require hefty amounts of CPU power, especially if you're going to use processing. I can run WMV 1080P on 6150 with 60% CPU load 2.2ghz 3700+ This isn't scaling though. Others have recommended 3ghz, which is entirely possible you need this. For DVD's 20% load. AVI's scaling to monitor in my sig around 50% also.
     
  7. Snow-Munki

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,047

    Location: At home


    thanks, will use the onboard gfx card on the MSI motherboard as discussed earlier, nvidia 6150.

    guess i could always upgrade the 3000 to whatever in future ?
     
  8. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    oh I thought you were talking about Silverstone cases, must've been someone else.
    yup apparently the board supports X2, but I guess need pure speed rather than dual core which isn't really used for a HTPC (unless doing video recording and playback at the same time from different channels) I doubt the extra few hundred megahertz will help if it's juddering if scaling/processing is enabled. I guess a faster graphics card with hardware acceleration will help more than a faster core CPU upgrade.

    btw going to try out a ATI PCIE X300, compare with CPU overhead in video. Going to install on another HD, don't fancy ATI drivers messing up Nvidia GFX when I go back.