1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

ati card problem,

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by matkeys, 21 Apr 2010.

  1. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    ok i have no problems playing games, well untill it seems the fan gets hot, so thought ok ill run a stress test and watch ati tool for artifacting card is at stock speeds of 648/999

    but as soon as i try to open the artifacts part this ocurs

    [​IMG]
     
  2. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    tried rolling back driver but blue screened

    created dump file for atikmdag.sys could then only boot in safe mode to install driver from ati website, re installed ati tool. still doign the same, im confussed why this is doing this

    my only thought is because its a ati card on a asus board???
     
  3. Amakuma

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Jan 2010

    Posts: 291

    Thats tends to be a driver issue, try to use a driver cleaning program and complete remove all Ati drivers and reinstall them again
     
  4. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    i did that in safe mode. sorry forgot to mention. its never had any other drivers on it due to a new mobo. should i try a previous driver?
     
  5. Amakuma

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Jan 2010

    Posts: 291

    What drivers you currently running?

    Yeh Give the driver before the latest one one I spin
     
  6. kylew

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 May 2007

    Posts: 10,739

    Location: Liverpool

    You have a new motherboard? Was your card doing this before your new motherboard?
     
  7. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    its nos p5nt, the card was fine in my last mobo drivers are the latest ones i belive,
    02/06/2008 version 8.501

    gpu-z says atiumdag 7.14.10.0590 catalyst 8.6
     
  8. kylew

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 May 2007

    Posts: 10,739

    Location: Liverpool

    I would suspect the fault is to do with the motherboard in that case then. Are you saying your new motherboard is a P5NT? Did your 780I break or something?

    It won't be because it's an asus motherboard with ATI graphics, I've got 2 PCs with Asus motherboards and both have ATi graphics cards in them.

    Also, catalyst 8.6s? :eek:

    You need to update them drivers, they're nearly a year old.
     
  9. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    What i meant to say was is a new/old board it was used twice with a ATI card by the previous person. So OK technically it's an old board but new by definition.

    That 8.6 catalyst was what I downloaded from ATI website.

    What version is there now? I can find that and see if it works.

    The board before was a retail MSI board in a acer M1610.
     
  10. matkeys

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Apr 2010

    Posts: 449

    Location: sevenoaks kent

    OK found 10.3 looks like the latest ones,

    It's funny because if you select x1xxx drivers from the ati website it gave me 8.5 display driver and 8.6 catalyst,

    instead searched latest catalyst drivers and now d/l 10.3 suite and display driver. may help if it does then great!!