1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AV Receiver Advice

Discussion in 'New to PC gaming & upgrade advice' started by BristolBEAT, 18 Jul 2019.

  1. BristolBEAT

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Jul 2019

    Posts: 5

    New the PC Building game. It's really fun picking all the parts out yourself.

    One question.

    I currently have an Pioneer AV Receiver with 5.1 speakers. My Xbox and Switch run on different HDMI INs and then HDMI out to my TV. I'd simply like to add my PC but it's proving a head scratcher.

    Once I've built my PC with and MSI 144hz gaming monitor how would you advise connecting up the AV receiver to the PC/monitor? The receiver only has 1x HDMI out so I couldn't connect both TV and monitor at the same time.

    Also what about ms lag this may or may not introduce?
     
  2. Shawreyboy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,293

    Location: Salisbury, Wilts

    Optical from Motherboard and DP from GPU direct to the Monitor is one option however, this depends on what codec you want the receiver to decode.

    Another is to connect the PC to the AV receiver and on the Out side have a HDMI switcher to switch between TV and Monitor however, this could introduce lag.

    Shawrey
     
  3. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Apr 2003

    Posts: 13,462

    Something like this (switch between ouputs - and can be reversed) - but lag would have to be considered - i think you can get ones with a remote:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. BristolBEAT

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Jul 2019

    Posts: 5

  5. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Apr 2003

    Posts: 13,462

    I think it mirrors the image from the main HDMI output - essentially splits the image - double check you manual.

    Perhaps worth a ~£15 gamble - but appreciate your concerns.
     
  6. BristolBEAT

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Jul 2019

    Posts: 5

    Am I going about this the wrong way, am I being stupid. Can you just route the audio only (coaxial) to the PC audio card?
     
  7. Kei

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,605

    Location: South Wales

    Ignoring the TV issue, you would likely have issues anyway as your receiver probably doesn't support higher than 60Hz.

    You could use a different input on the receiver. (provided it has them) I use Optical (TOSlink) to connect my pc to my av pre-amp, though to get surround sound requires live encoding of dolby digital or dts. (5.1 only) If you have analogue inputs on the av receiver you could use them for each channel.
     
  8. BristolBEAT

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Jul 2019

    Posts: 5

    I want to forget the picture at this stage, the MSI monitor would be connected to the GFX card, end.

    For the sound I'm looking at various sound cards, would I simply connect this card using Optical (TOSlink) to the receiver. Then do receivers have an option to just select the optical audio input?
     
  9. Kei

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,605

    Location: South Wales

    Most receivers should have an optical connection available that can be assigned to an input name. In my case with a marantz av7701, I have optical 1 assigned to the audio input on "media player". In a basic setup this would only get you stereo PCM. The best you can get out of optical is 5.1 as bitstream which would require a suitable sound card featuring dolby digital live or dts connect.
     
  10. BristolBEAT

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Jul 2019

    Posts: 5

    Any suggestions which sound card you would buy? Would this support Dolby Atmos if the receiver did? I know you can get the Windows Dolby Atmos app which simulates it.
     
  11. Kei

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,605

    Location: South Wales

    I had an asus xonar essence ST that did dolby digital live via optical. I've no idea on current options, I've had an rme hdspe aio for a while now so I'm out of touch with current sound cards that support surround. Optical will not support atmos as it cannot support more than 5.1 channels.