1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AX860 not enough for 3090

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Born_2_Kill_83, 30 Jan 2021.

  1. Born_2_Kill_83

    Underboss

    Joined: 10 Nov 2006

    Posts: 8,282

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Feel like a need a second pair of eyes on this, I'm also going to post in the O/C section as I'm not sure where the problem lies.

    I'm getting power off/restarts in Hunt Showdown, and only Hunt which is the odd thing, I've recently completed 70+ hours in Cyberpunk without a single problem from what I remember. That game has massive media on being buggy so I may of had a shutdown and put it down to the game on that occasion.

    My system consists on the below:
    3090 (founders) @ 120% power +125 core
    8700K @ 5.0g 1.31v (8Pack binned delidded) with Corsair H150i AIO 6 120mm RGB fans
    Gigabyte Gaming 7 Z370 + 16GB 3600mhz
    3 further 120mm RGB fans for case
    Multiple RGB strips and controllers
    2X SATA SSD, 1X M.2 SSD, 1X spun drive

    I have tried the following:
    Checked all cabling to the PSU and MB is seated correctly
    Stressed CPU overclock for several hours in Prime95 OCCT, Linpac and AIDA64
    Stressed GPU for several hours across multiple benchmarks and games
    Re-seated AIO to remove air bubbles
    Re-applied thermal paste X 2
    Stressed Memory

    Max temps on GPU are 72C, CPU highest core in game 78c, VRM 72C.

    A online PSU calculator suggest I need a 780W PSU

    Now the reason I'm now questioning the PSU while although on paper is should be enough it is over 3.5 years old and has had a hard life. What's more is if I remove my GPU overclock and put it back to 100% power, everything is fine, if I run my CPU at stock speeds all is fine. It feels like I'm hitting a power peak and the system is crapping out. Could I be wrong? why only in one game that's the thing that's getting to me. Warzone fine, Assassins Creed fine.

    Thanks for reading my wall of text :)
     
  2. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 18,952

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    The 3090FE can pull 360w at stock and anything up to 450w when clocked but should be adequately powered by a quality 860w psu such as yours even with the cpu overclocked as well. Are you sure it's not the gpu overclock at fault? I had a similar problem that only reared it's head in Civ VI and that turned out to be a unstable DDR4 overclock. It was perfectly fine in everything else but this one game made it fall over within 10 minutes. Have you tried powering the new 12 pin power plug from a pair of seperate pci-e leads and not a single lead that has daisy chained connectors?
     
  3. EsaT

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 9,372

    Location: Finland

    Stock Founders Edition 3090 has 550+W transients:
    https://www.igorslab.de/en/nvidia-g...-and-common-decadence-if-price-is-not-all/16/
    So who knows what it can draw when overclocked like that.

    Also that 8700K is capable up to 150W level continuous power draw at stock and no doubt has higher transients.
    And overlockig definitely doesn't help any.

    So 1kW PSU wouldn't be out of place.

    Though obviously could be about not completely 100% stable overclocking.
     
  4. zx|muppet

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Jan 2003

    Posts: 872

    Location: staines

    My 3080 with 450w bios and a 8700k @4.9 pulls around 650-680w on my 850w asus thor when looking at its display. I'm only running 90 core and 700 mem at the moment.
     
  5. Sc00p007

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Feb 2009

    Posts: 695

    I had the same problem with the Ax860. Random shutdowns whilst gaming on a 3090fe.
    Swapped in a 1000w psu and not had a random shutdown since.
    As mentioned already, the card has high transient spikes and I guess the PSU has a sensitive ocp which is being tripped.
     
  6. Marc250

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Sep 2020

    Posts: 55

    I'd chuck a better psu at the situation. Easiest place to start.
     
  7. turbot1984

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jan 2012

    Posts: 1,376

    Makes sense going quality 1000W, particularly if you slot in a power hungry new Intel at some point.
     
  8. turbot1984

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jan 2012

    Posts: 1,376

  9. Sc00p007

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Feb 2009

    Posts: 695

    That's the one I had.
    It is great in a oc 9900k build with 373w 2080ti. But in the 5950x system of which is only using one ccd, and is undervolted (waiting on a block preorder to get my loop going, so have a small cooler on the 5950x) it randomly shutsdown even though its pulling less wattage than the 9900k rig. This is what leads me to think it's about transient spikes.
     
  10. turbot1984

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jan 2012

    Posts: 1,376

    I would agree. Got me worried as I have a 2012 psu, fingers crossed :eek:
     
  11. Born_2_Kill_83

    Underboss

    Joined: 10 Nov 2006

    Posts: 8,282

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Thanks for the input guys, I think I'm going to go PSU shopping, at least if I buy one off an online retailer like the rain forest I can return if I still get power offs.
    Soon as I drop power on the GPU or CPU it becomes more stable, I can play for longer but I'm still getting crashes, could just be a buggy ass game as well.

    Future proofing for an I9 or equivalent what should I go for to pair it with my 3090, 1000w or just jump to a 1200, or is that wasting money
     
  12. philo-sofa

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2012

    Posts: 690

    If I had to guess, I’d say it’s that your overclock is unstable in certain games. Maybe dial it back 25-50 MHz, and see if that fixes the issue.
     
  13. Born_2_Kill_83

    Underboss

    Joined: 10 Nov 2006

    Posts: 8,282

    Location: Lincolnshire

    This is what I thought, I first dialed it back to 100 core (-25) = crash, then I ran at stock clocks just 120% power = crash.
     
  14. philo-sofa

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2012

    Posts: 690

    Hmm. Good luck with the PSU then mate, hope that resolves things.
     
  15. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 74,113

    Could be difficult to narrow down what the cause is but these Ampere cards do tend to have some nasty transients - unfortunately my power monitor only updates at a couple of Hz so can't accurately capture them but looks like my 3070FE at times can suddenly spike over +200watt and that will be worse on a 3090 if it does similar and could be some PSUs simply can't respond quickly enough or something even when the total is within their on paper capabilities.
     
  16. EsaT

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 9,372

    Location: Finland

    3070FE has 350+ W transients in gaming.
    https://www.igorslab.de/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/8a-Gaming-Zoom-Power.png
    https://www.igorslab.de/en/nvidia-g...ampere-can-also-economic-and-cuddly-small/12/
     
  17. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 74,113

    That looks like approx. +150watt spikes above load condition couple of maybe +175watt roughly - problem is I think these are very short duration and even that sampling resolution might not be accurately capturing them. As mentioned in the article it is possible some power supplies, especially ageing ones just can't cope with demands that quick even though they are considerably over the required wattage on paper. (EDIT: and/or as per the article aren't well enough designed to handle demands of that pattern without tripping protection circuits).

    One of the reasons I tend to err on the side of recommending people buy a higher spec PSU than they strictly "need".
     
  18. Born_2_Kill_83

    Underboss

    Joined: 10 Nov 2006

    Posts: 8,282

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Interesting that there are people happily running 3090's on 850w PSU's, without an issue, or at least an application that's found the issue yet. Mine's fine in 70 hours of Cyberpunk which really pushes my machine CPU and GPU, yet a 3 year old Crytek game spikes the hell out of it.
     
  19. Born_2_Kill_83

    Underboss

    Joined: 10 Nov 2006

    Posts: 8,282

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I have replaced with a RM1000X and the issues has gone away. The AX860 is now being RMA'd though I'm not sure if it's faulty or not.
     
  20. JollyJamma

    Associate

    Joined: 4 Oct 2019

    Posts: 81

    Location: South West England

    The 3080 and 3090 cards spike quite heavily during certain operations.

    would be ok running 860 watt Corsair PSU for a 3080 but the issue is that the sudden jump in power draw triggers the over current over current protection.

    Glad OP came right with a bigger psu.