1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bad V-Rails?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Heofz, 28 Mar 2006.

  1. Heofz

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,451

    Location: Basingstoke, UK

    [​IMG]

    Is there anything wrong here with the rails?

    (ignore the CPU temperature, goes a bit haywire as its below 0°C)
     
  2. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Nov 2004

    Posts: 9,835

    Location: UK

    The spec is 5% + or -

    12v looks low but in spec.
     
  3. Heofz

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,451

    Location: Basingstoke, UK

    but when its that low, does this suggest strain on the PSU ?
     
  4. no_1_dave

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Jul 2004

    Posts: 6,882

    Location: Gloucestershire

    What psu is that?
     
  5. Heofz

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,451

    Location: Basingstoke, UK

    its the Tagan 480W SLi compliant PSU
     
  6. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    I had a tagan 480w that was relatively low on the 12v line, it was pretty stable and didnt move much but would idle around 11.8-11.9, so I opened it up and tweaked the pot just slightly, it ran at 12.0-12.1 under full load then.
     
  7. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Nov 2004

    Posts: 9,835

    Location: UK

    I had the same PSU with the sig below and it wasn't up to the job. Changed it for a better PSU and my overclock went up quite a bit.
     
  8. Heofz

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,451

    Location: Basingstoke, UK

    seriously?

    Looks like its time for a new PSU :)
     
  9. VaderDSL

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,484

    Location: Manchester

    nooo the software is probably off - if you can check with a multimeter, then decide if you want to change, checking it with a multimeter will probably show a different reading higher or lower I couldn't say however.
     
  10. Heofz

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,451

    Location: Basingstoke, UK

    how do i check with a multimeter exactly? which contacts do I use or does it depend on my motherboard?
     
  11. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 22,650

    Location: Guernsey

    Last edited: 28 Mar 2006