1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ballistix 2x1GB - worth the hassle?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by abhorsen, 27 Mar 2006.

  1. abhorsen

    Associate

    Joined: 25 Feb 2006

    Posts: 10

    okay so i know these things are the most RMA'd memory out there... but also theyre capable of crazily high speeds (ive seen upto 307) so basically is anyone using the 2x1GB kits and are they worth the hassle? or should i just go with the mushkin or ocz PC4000 stuff? thanks for the help

    ~Abh
     
  2. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    I would not do it, the chance of getting a faulty set is very high and if you get a duff set you run the risk of getting 4x512Mb sticks back from RMA
     
  3. Cashman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,136

    Location: Petersfield, Hampshire

    Ive got them and haven't had one problem since they were released. I get 260ht @ 3-3-3-7 @ 2.7v

    I have to admit tho, i'd be mightily naffed off if I tried a RMA and got 4x512mb.

    Im told tho that they (Crucial) have sets of 2x1gb ready for such RMA times.

    Your call I suppose... personally I fancy trying the new Mushkin XP4000 Extreme Redline, even tho they are a little expensive... failing that Im interested in the new Corsair 2x1GB PC4400 that has just come out... prolly quite pricey tho.
     
  4. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,101

    Location: Rutland

    Mine are dying, I'd steer clear.
     
  5. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    Don't do it. Mine died, RMA'd then cried.

    4x512mb sticks :(
     
  6. Scoobie Dave

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,901

    Location: Plugged into the Matrix

    Dont do it. Sent 2 sets back then got a refund :D
     
  7. Larok

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 340

    No.. see sig
     
  8. mercyless

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,049

    Location: london

    my best 2gb mem to date, sadly RMA'd 3 sets.
    not worth the hassle
     
  9. bellylard

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 Jul 2005

    Posts: 378

    Location: Canada - where the beer flows

    Not worth the hassle. I RMA's mine on tuesday and they sent me 2x1GB thart arrived today, but due to some UPS error they wanted mt to pay tax because it said RMA instead of warranty refund, but thats sorted now I just have to wait untill tomorrow.

    Go with the Mushkin Redline
     
  10. abhorsen

    Associate

    Joined: 25 Feb 2006

    Posts: 10

    ok, thanks for the advice, the redlines are sweet but sadly a little out of my budget. ill probably just get the ocz or mushy pc4000
     
  11. Rob43

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Jun 2003

    Posts: 3,091

    Location: Scotland

    RMA'D 4 2GB kits,Don't go near them,not worth the hassle :(
     
  12. brenkehoe

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Nov 2005

    Posts: 97

    Location: Tadcaster,North Yorkshire

    Mine are on RMA atm via OCUK, Will they send me 4 x 512mb modules ? Because i only have 2 spare slots as ive got 2 x 512mb of Mushkin xp4400 in already and i wanted 3 gig. Oh well if they do guess ill have to ebay them and buy some decent 2 x 1gb modules that don't die after a few months of use.
     
  13. Cashman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,136

    Location: Petersfield, Hampshire

    Jesus!!

    I thought the cases were isolated to people that have been spanking their vDimm too much :(

    I just hope mine dont go the way of the dodo as I dont want to get rid just yet!!

    Stick well clear then !
     
  14. toxic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Mar 2006

    Posts: 2,245

    Location: Scotland

    na man...my pals wiped out after a couple of weeks using default speed, timings and voltage. Oh yes...and mine wiped out too and I still havent got a replacement from OCuk. Good stuff....but will it work for long...that is the questtion.
     
  15. tickle me elmo

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Nov 2005

    Posts: 362

    default speeds, timings and voltage and my 3200 ballistix still died.

    avoid!!
     
  16. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Unfortunately not, it does however look like high VDimm (>2.8V) kills them rather quickly.
     
  17. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,888

    Location: Ealing, London

    Had mine since last July, running at 250, 3-3-3-8 1t, 2.8V, never had an issue with them, however I'd recoomend you not to get them....see above lol.
     
  18. ted34

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,738

    Location: Edinburgh

    records can be set
     
  19. smit101

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Jan 2004

    Posts: 4,305

    Location: In The Wilds.

    Just RMA'd my second set today,recently gone from NF3 (epox 9NDA3+) to NF4 (DFI Ultra D),they were working o.k in the epox but one stick was erroring quite severely in memtest on the Ultra D,messed with mem timings,voltages,drive strengths etc until I was goggle eyed but still couldn't get 'em stable,hopefully it'll be 3rd time lucky.

    OP,go for some of the G.Skill HZ,it seems to be much more reliable and is currently at a reasonable sort of price.
     
  20. Irish_Tom

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,145

    one of my sticks has just died. Whats the process for RMA, should I do it through OCUK?

    Cheers

    Panzer