1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ballistix Sport LT Overclocking

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Troezar, 28 Jul 2019.

  1. Troezar

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 4,144

    Thought I'd make a thread to see how people were getting on with this RAM. I have been playing around and have discovered what a deep rabbit hole RAM overclocking is! I've been using DRAM calculator for Ryzen 1.5.1 to get me started and I'm running the below:

    Ballistix Sport LT - BLS16G4D32AESB.M16FE - XMP 16-18-18-36-72 / 1.35 V

    2 x 16GB on an Aorus Master X570 motherboard with a 3700X

    So far I'm running at 14,16,14,32,48 1T @ 1.4v which seems ok so far but I'm planning on dropping the voltage and seeing how much I can tighten up the timings

    I have tried faster clocks but seem to get slower results so going back to try and see what I can get at the rated MHz and then work up.

    What luck are you having? Any useful tips to help get there quicker? It seems to take a long time to test especially if it won't boot and the BIOS resets.
     
  2. clown_abhi

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 104

    I think i have the exact same kit.

    I tried various settins but finally settled on 14 14 14 30 at 3200MHz 1.35V ( Think thats the timings but not 100% certain about the 2nd and 3rd one - will check when i am home but most probably its that)

    No point messing about the voltages as even at 3600MHz CL16, gaming benchmarks have only a frame difference. So no point spending too much time on it. I wasted a lot and after so many bios resets and memtest for hours realised its not worth it.

    So finally left it at 3200 CL14 and its fast enough for me at stock voltages.
     
  3. nomadd

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Sep 2008

    Posts: 788

    I'm pretty impressed by that.

    Mind you, all your talk has made them up the price by £3.00 ! :D

    All-in-all, great speeds for the price - pretty much half the cost of some alternative kits.
     
  4. clown_abhi

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 104

    LoL Good thing is we got it before they did that.
     
  5. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Oct 2013

    Posts: 623

    I have 3533 running at XMP timings with the 3200mhz kits (no need to go above 1.37v)

    That's with a 3900x and a Gigabyte Gaming K5 (x370). I think the only reason I can't get anything better timings wise is the motherboard and not the RAM (even manually settings XMP timings causes issues).

    Overall extremely happy for a 16gb kit that was near half the price of B-Die :-D
     
  6. NathG79

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2012

    Posts: 189

    I have this kit also.
    BLS2K16G4D32AESB
    32Gb (16GB x 2)

    Waiting on the 3900x to drop in to a Aorus x570 pro.
    Will be interesting to see what these sticks will do. Thanks to @tamzzy for the tip.
     
  7. nomadd

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Sep 2008

    Posts: 788

    Be interested with how you get on with that.

    My current DDR3-based rig has 32GB, and I'd prefer to stay at that figure when I finally get round to building a new rig. Seems that kit is now down to the same price I paid for my DDR3 stuff about 7 years ago. It's certainly been a roller-coaster with DDR4 ram prices over the last few years! ;)
     
  8. NathG79

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2012

    Posts: 189

    Im moving up from a z97 intel 1150 (4770k) DDR3 im currently running 32GB also, at (2400mhz).
     
  9. neohowlett

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Oct 2012

    Posts: 23

    Location: Hertfordshire and Aspromonte

    I'm also interested, i'm searching for a thaiphoon burner screen for detail info. Someone can help me ?
    I know for sure that are micron e-die, i just need part number also.
     
  10. neohowlett

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Oct 2012

    Posts: 23

    Location: Hertfordshire and Aspromonte

    Hello Troezar, can you post a thaiphoon burner screen pls. :)
     
  11. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Oct 2013

    Posts: 623

    Some 3600mhz OC settings for the 3200mhz kits with a 3900x

    https://imgur.com/yedGcFN

    The sticks I have can do 3600c14 but that needs 1.46 - 1.47v. a little high for me to run 24/7

    Still extremely happy with the value of these kits.
     
  12. neohowlett

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Oct 2012

    Posts: 23

    Location: Hertfordshire and Aspromonte

    great result !! can you post a thaiphoon burner screen, im looking for some part numbers.

    Dunno if this forum is kinda dead or is just omertà mode on... (if you don't speak italian, hard to understand what omerta mean).

    Vasamu i mani picciotti.
     
  13. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2012

    Posts: 12,288

    As everyone knows I've been recommending these kits as a value alternative to the overpriced gouge b-die kits. :p
    My personal experience is a straightforward overclock of 3600 at xmp settings with 1.4v...just set the multi to 36x and the voltage and good to go.

    Using the 2*16gb 3200c16 kits. Running at 3600mhz with 16-18-18 (3200 xmp timings)

    This is untuned as I've not had the time currently. So I suspect with a bit of tweaking should be able to get the timings tighter and/or voltages down.
     
  14. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 6,791

    I have 2x 16 GiB of this stuff (BLS16G4D32AESB). I've tightened timings as much as I can at 3200 MT/s and can hit 14-16-14-26 - no idea why such a low tRAS works but there you go.

    I cannot get anything over 3200 MT/s stable though, no matter what voltages I play with (VDIMM, VDDP, CLDO_VDDP) or however loose I set the timings. In fact I cannot even get 3333 MT/s to POST unless I set procODT to 28-32 Ohms (default is 60). I know the IF can run at 1866 MHz no problem so it's definitely the RAM that is poop. Very disappointing considering the number of people hitting 3600 MT/s with these kits. :(
     
  15. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2012

    Posts: 12,288

    @DragonQ ouch. that sucks to lose the silicon lottery :(
    just curious if it could be the board, as you're using x470...just a thought...
     
  16. neohowlett

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Oct 2012

    Posts: 23

    Location: Hertfordshire and Aspromonte

    x470 taichi is T-topology... i heard not good at overclock 2 of 4 slot. The best is have 4 of 4 slot in use there...
     
  17. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 6,791

    Yeah but you're talking about the difference between 4200 and 3933 MT/s max speeds. At the kinds of speeds Ryzen 3000 is optimised for, it really makes no difference. Also using more slots will never improve things, T-topology just means using 4 slots won't be worse than using 2.
     
  18. neohowlett

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Oct 2012

    Posts: 23

    Location: Hertfordshire and Aspromonte

    you are right,
    can you post a thaiphoon burner screen ? There are micron e-die at 19nm and 16nm with different part number. I asked before in this thread, if everyone can post(please) that screen we can build a stats where are listed all oc result and part number. Is that ballistix sport LT overclock thread :D
     
  19. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2012

    Posts: 12,288

  20. neohowlett

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Oct 2012

    Posts: 23

    Location: Hertfordshire and Aspromonte

    @tamzzy
    thanks a lot.

    Another things, as your screen, most common part number is D9VPP (as printed on chip under heatsink).

    Sometimes happen another weird thing, thaiphoon burner read spd data and ''say'' that is D9VPP, i find some review where this is not completely true, sometimes under the hood there are C9BJZ that is the same part number used on ballistix elite in the world record. So, overclock can be silicon lottery, also can be some e-die part selection and not a completely true readings of thaiphoon burner... so this can be a partial blind walking (unless you remove heatsink, i not advice that).

    So we can start with this stats, at least. And yes, lot of people with this LT run at 3600 no issues...