1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Basic Guide For Overclocking Q6600 on Asus P5K-E (and similar) Motherboards

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Pneumonic, 6 Jan 2008.

  1. 1kiwi

    Soldato

    Joined: 25 Oct 2007

    Posts: 6,911

    Location: Los Angeles

    Sandman, i think there is a general P5W / P5K overclocking thread so you might want to have a look at that. Just search under Asus + official and that should pull it up.
     
  2. SANDMAN666

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Nov 2002

    Posts: 104

    Location: Sheffield

    CHEERS M8...Will do.;)
     
  3. psycodelicmonti

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Feb 2008

    Posts: 25

    Gonna try to push my cpu a bit more today, but my temps seem pretty low as its roasting in here today! Room temp is 24.5c!

    [​IMG]
     
  4. bbasra

    Associate

    Joined: 24 Feb 2008

    Posts: 74

    you should be able to get 3.4 (389 * 9). My settings are in this thread.
     
  5. Storrm

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2003

    Posts: 318

    Thanks for this guide. Enabled me to take my new Q6600 to 3.2 without even thinking!! Only thing I've noticed is that Cores 0/1 always run 5-6deg higher than 2/3. Could this be an indication of poor seating of the cooler or just that I didn't apply the AS correctly?
     
  6. Pneumonic

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2007

    Posts: 3,246

    Location: Suffolk

    Glad people are still finding this useful! :)
     
  7. bbasra

    Associate

    Joined: 24 Feb 2008

    Posts: 74

    i inserted a Samsung 1TB HDD into my system all was working fine until after a week, windows kept BSOD'ing each time it loaded, ntfs.sys issue. I couldnt do anything except load default bios settings and it was better.

    i've just returned my mobo becuase of USB issues i had so will wait and see what happens with my replacement.
     
  8. shaffaaf27

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Jun 2007

    Posts: 5,241

    Location: London

    brillaint guide.

    im using PLL of 1.7, neevr gone higher, and any lower introduces instabilities, and i am at 400x8 right now with my E2140.
     
  9. rjk

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Aug 2007

    Posts: 25,318

    just found this thread - very helpful and informative
     
  10. Pneumonic

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2007

    Posts: 3,246

    Location: Suffolk

    thanks for the feedback and the rating :)

    will update this for P45 boards at some stage
     
  11. Kearney_1988

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Jan 2008

    Posts: 1,693

    Location: Birmingham

    cant believe ive never found this, maybe i will finally get my e8400 past 3.9Ghz
     
  12. Bornnslippy

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2007

    Posts: 108

    Hi i have got it stable at 3.2ghz with the info from page 1 now what do i do to get my speed up any more?

    Thxs
     
  13. Pneumonic

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2007

    Posts: 3,246

    Location: Suffolk

    just keep on increasing the FSB and running through the prime95 test cycles.. once it fails you will need to add more vcore... keep an eye on temps and make sure you keep your RAM under it rated frequency
     
  14. Bornnslippy

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2007

    Posts: 108

    Right here is my settings seems stable staying at 59c

    Ratio CMOS Setting] 9
    [FSB Frequency] 380
    [FSB STRAP to NB] 333mhz
    [PCI-E Frequency] 101
    [DRAM Frequency] DDR2 780Mhz
    [DRAM Command Rate] 2T
    [DRAM Timing Controls] 5-5-5-18
    [CPU Voltage] 1.4125v
    [DRAM Voltage] 2.10
    [CPU Voltage Dampener] Enabled
    [North Bridge Voltage] Auto
    [FSB Termination Voltage] Auto

    are the settings ok for my ram?

    OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) PC2-6400C5 Dual Channel Vista Gold Series DDR2 (OCZ2G8004GK) 800MHz RAM Speed, CAS 5-5-5-18 Timings, 2.1-2.2v

    Also would i have to increase dram voltage if i add another 2 sticks

    thxs
     
  15. Pneumonic

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2007

    Posts: 3,246

    Location: Suffolk

    RAM looks fine, you would probablt need a touch more NB volts
     
  16. Bornnslippy

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2007

    Posts: 108

    What would u go with?
     
  17. Pneumonic

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2007

    Posts: 3,246

    Location: Suffolk

    1.45v on the NB should be plenty
     
  18. xerces8

    Associate

    Joined: 3 Jan 2016

    Posts: 2

    Hi!

    There is a P5K-E (WiFi) + Q6600 system that we want to squeeze out a couple of months of usefulness before upgrading, so I'm looking for some hints to overclocking.

    Originally I overclocked it to 3 GHz (set FSB to 1333MHz or 333 as it says in the BIOS setting) but changed it back as the stock performance was more than enough back then.

    Recently I set the FSB to 333 again (and the RAM to DDR2-667) and it worked OK (no crash), but the temps were strangely high.
    On stock clock in idle it was around 60 degrees (according to CoreTemp) and about 85 degrees running Prime95 Small FFT.
    But when overclocked, in idle it showed 80 and with Prime95 it went up to 100 and triggered thermal throttling.

    So the questions are:
    - is the higher temperature normal? Or did I set (or forgot to set) some related BIOS option?
    - a set of tested settings for overclocking to 9x333 MHz (and everything else at standard clock: PCI-E, RAM...) would be welcome
    - could it be the CPU is less overclockable due to age?


    Info:
    BIOS version (can flash other): 1102, 19.6.2008
    CPU stepping: G0
    RAM speed: 800 MHz (4x2GB Transcend JM800QLU)

    Regards,
    David

    PS: I checked the FAQ and it says nothing about posting to older threads. Some forums frown on it. If this is a problem, pleas move my message to an appropriate place.
     
  19. Xplo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,649

    Location: UK

    Holy thread revival. Welcome to the forums.

    Sounds silly but the first thing i would be doing is to take the side cover off and give the pc a damn good dusting out. Assuming you haven't already tried this. There is the potential of alot of dust build up over these years. Next thing i would be doing is taking the cpu cooler off and giving that an even more thorough going over, and clean off and replace the thermal paste on the cpu which is probably gone all horrible and nowhere near effective as new. This should see your temps drop massively, then all you have to do is go to page 1 of this thread, read from start to finish for an hour or so, then you will be well positioned to squeeze further life out of it still
     
  20. xerces8

    Associate

    Joined: 3 Jan 2016

    Posts: 2

    The cover is off all the time.
    There is not much dust on the CPU cooler.
    20 degree difference in idle just seemed a bit too much, especially with no voltage increase. But it is a long time since I was in the OC "business"...
    As for the paste, you are of course right.
    I'll renew it next time (the PC is at a relative now, so I must visit them first...)