1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Basic PC build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Alien18, 1 Mar 2006.

  1. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    Hi,

    A few months back i asked about decent build PCs and some specced me out a decent one but times have changed and last night my old PC finally died.

    I'm not 100% certain what exactly happened i was just sitting there watching the latest episode of 24 and some wierd blue screen came up with a load of writing on...long story short...it starts up but wont even boot in safe mode or load the Windows Setup from CD both hang quite early in the process. While I am thinking of one or two things that it may be (which I'll try and fix tonight when i get home) I think its time for a simple upgrade/newPC.

    there are a couple of components that i only purchased within that last year or so which I'd like to keep. They are 120GB HDD (Though I wouldn't mind at least another 80GB) and a 128MB ATI Radeon 9800 Pro (I think thats the exact model). Oh and a NEC DVD-RW (that does DL and 16x).

    At the moment I'm thinking of either buy a Barebones PC and installing the above with a New CPU and new RAM (Don't think I'm Missing much). Or buying the seperate components.

    All I'm asking for mainly is some advise as to whether to go Barebones or seperate components? Also am i right in thinking that a Barebones system is just hte case and MotherBoard?

    Any system spec suggestions would be much appreciated.

    Many Thanks in advance for any help/advice provided.

    [Edit] Forgot to mention I'm trying to do this as cheap as possible because I've just been made redundant and aint guaranteed the income after June!
     
  2. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    What do you to on you PC, where you watching TV on the computer when it died - if so do you need a new TV card?
     
  3. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    Sorry, I dont fully understand your question. But It was just an AVI file I was watching.

    Either way my computer is years old and I've just upgraded the minimum bits as and when I've needed to, so I need a practically new PC (with the exception of the few items above).
     
  4. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    hehe just ignore the 'to' was a typo. Basically helps to know what you use your PC for. Obviously playing AVI files is one :). Just trying to work out what the best solution is. Most of us, me included, would recomend looking at PCI-E. Also we need SOME idea of budget :).
     
  5. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    How about this option then...

    AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3500BPBOX) (CP-119-AM) £140.94
    OcUK Value 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel Kit (MY-004-OK) £52.82
    Antec SLK3800BUK Black Quiet Midi Tower Case - 400W SmartPower PSU (CA-048-AN) £64.57
    ASRock 939 Dual-SATA2 ULi AGP/PCI-E (Socket 939) - £43 approx *** not from OcUK but from other etailers.

    Total = £301.33 including VAT

    or add .. Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 80GB 6V080E0 SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-095-MD) £37.54

    Total = £338.87 including VAT

    Very good 3500+ CPU.
    1 gig ram should be plenty.
    The mobo is AGP & PCIE - so you can change at a later date & its a good mobo too.
    Upgraded PSU , this should be plenty enough.
     
    Last edited: 1 Mar 2006
  6. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    While i know PCI-E has (or is) pretty much replacing AGP, I'd rather not part with my 128MB ATi Radeon but if i have to then I will.

    I know its a tight budget but I'd rather not go over the £300 mark.

    I persoanlly think it's possible if i keep the 120gb HDD i have and the ATi card and DVD-RW, but i just dont know what the best system is that i can make with what i have available.

    I used to play a lot of games on my PC but when it just couldn't handle the latest games I stopped. Things like counter-strike Source, Day of Defeat and Battle for Middle Earth have all worked on my PC about a year ago but i think as my PC aged and deteriorated it seemed to struggle with them a bit so I just gave up trying.
     
  7. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    Cheers ACESHIGH. That looks pretty good. Might have enough for a slightly better CPU and HDD.

    Luckily I have laptop I can use for basic stuff like surfing hte web and watching AVIs but its quite old and sluggish. (Even more so than my now dead computer).

    Speaking of which, I think even if i do manage somehow to get my PC into a "working" state again tonight I shall try and save for a month or 2 for a slightly better spec PC that the one you're suggesting.
     
  8. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    OK two choices, this first one gives you up to date technology and a decent upgrade for all your major components.

    CP-117-AM AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3000BPBOX) (CP-117-AM)
    £89.95 £89.95
    FS-028-AS Asus Vintage AH1 Barebones System - AMD Socket 939 (FS-028-AS)
    £79.95 £79.95
    MY-005-GL GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS2.5 (GE1GB3200BHDC) (MY-005-GL)
    £54.95 £54.95
    GX-053-PC PowerColor ATI Radeon X800 GTO 128MB DDR TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-053-PC)
    £69.95 £69.95
    Subtotal £294.80
    Shipping (City Link Parcel Next Day (Delivered Mon-Fri)) £8.95
    VAT £53.16
    Total £356.91

    Second Spec - Re-uses your graphics but leaves you on AGP which means you'll be struggling still with games. I've stretch your PC and give yourself something with much longer life.

    CP-117-AM AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3000BPBOX) (CP-117-AM)
    £89.95 £89.95
    MY-005-GL GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS2.5 (GE1GB3200BHDC) (MY-005-GL)
    £54.95 £54.95
    MB-079-AB Abit UL8 ULi M1689 (Socket 939) Motherboard (MB-079-AB)
    £36.95 £36.95
    CA-001-AR Arctic Cooling T2 Silentium Silent Midi Tower Case - 450W Seasonic Silent PSU (CA-001-AR)
    £49.95 £49.95
    Subtotal £231.80
    Shipping (City Link Parcel Next Day (Delivered Mon-Fri)) £10.95
    VAT £42.49
    Total £285.24
     
  9. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    ** edited it above, instead of adding comments ....

    How about this option then...

    AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3500BPBOX) (CP-119-AM) £140.94
    OcUK Value 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel Kit (MY-004-OK) £52.82
    Antec SLK3800BUK Black Quiet Midi Tower Case - 400W SmartPower PSU (CA-048-AN) £64.57
    ASRock 939 Dual-SATA2 ULi AGP/PCI-E (Socket 939) - £43 approx *** not from OcUK but from other etailers.

    Total = £301.33 including VAT
    *** for the price this is a great spec & because you can upgrade graphics to pcie later you will have a good upgrade path.



    or add .. Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 80GB 6V080E0 SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-095-MD) £37.54

    Total = £338.87 including VAT

    Very good 3500+ CPU.
    1 gig ram should be plenty.
    The mobo is AGP & PCIE - so you can change at a later date & its a good mobo too.
    Upgraded PSU , this should be plenty enough.
     
    Last edited: 1 Mar 2006
  10. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    Superb, my Wallet is screaming "Second Spec" but my brain is saying "first".

    I'll have to see if I can get my PC up and running tonight and then make a decision.

    If i don't get it working how much do you reckon I could sell the following components for (bare in mind that one of them is probably broken but obviously i wont sell the broken one):

    -P4 1.7Ghz
    -128MB ATi Radeon 9800 Pro
    -768mb RAM (512+256; can't remember the exact specs off top of my head)
    -crappy ol' Midi tower case

    I think thats the main bits i can think of. I wouldn't expect much for that lot but would prolly put it on Ebay to try and recoupe some of my money.
     
  11. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    Another great spec from ACESHIGH. You're all very helpful, many thanks. Its been years since I've built a PC and everything has changed so much. I'm glad there's people like you 2 around to help me.
     
  12. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    I'm shall be purchasing this system within the next week or two and just wanted to thank you for your help and ask one more quick question.

    I have noticed that the 512Mb RAM in my current PC (less than a year old) is also PC3200. Would you recommend adding this to the system as well as the 1gb above or would it screw up the dual channel side of things? Which option would be best...3x512mb or the 2x512mb dual channel?

    Many thanks again for all your help.
     
  13. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    Just use the 1gb Dual channel kit & sell the old 512mb stick.
     
  14. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    Hi All,

    Im about to order the following system as specced by ACESHIGH:

    AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3500BPBOX) (CP-119-AM) £140.94
    OcUK Value 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel Kit (MY-004-OK) £52.82
    Antec SLK3800BUK Black Quiet Midi Tower Case - 400W SmartPower PSU (CA-048-AN) £64.57
    ASRock 939 Dual-SATA2 ULi AGP/PCI-E (Socket 939) - £43 approx *** not from OcUK but from other etailers.

    Total = £301.33 including VAT

    And just wanted to check before I order it all that there aren't any offers/price reductions that I've note found (I've just a a quick look but just wanted to double check).

    Many Thanks.
     
  15. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Only thing i can think of is, if you have an extra £7 then get the quicker ...
    AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3700BNBOX) (CP-121-AM)
    £147.99*Including VAT

    The case price seems to have dropped by a few £ so all up you would pay about same as for original spec. :)
     
  16. Bellboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 347

    Your laptop is even slower then your now dead computer?! :eek: didn't think things could get much slower :p
     
  17. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    D'oh, Unfortunately when I made my last post I was doing so 200miles from home where there isn't a dedicated connection. So I was using my laptop and mobile phone to connect. Hence the reason I asked on here.

    Anyway, I was very unlucky because I had to go out at 9ish and just missed your post otherwise I would've spent the extra £7 on the slightly better CPU. Ah well, Many thanks for your help. I'll let you know how i get on once its all built (should be receiving my MoBo later in the week).


    [edit] If i ordered my stuff on Friday night should I expect it today?
     
    Last edited: 20 Mar 2006
  18. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    Ok, Perhaps I should've checked this before but I've just noticed that on the pic of the case here...

    Antec Case

    and the pic of the MotherBoard (the one bit im still waiting to be sent) on page 9 of the PDF here...

    MoBo PDF

    seem to suggest that the ports (COM, USB, Parallel, etc) on the MotherBoard wont align correctly with the precut holes on the case.

    Can anyone confirm or deny this? is the picture of the motherboard just for illustration purposes? The case seems to have the standard precut holes and it would seem strange that the mother board is "designed to fit standard ATX cases" but not have the ports in the usual place.

    Am i worrying ove nothing? is there something I've missed? Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  19. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    You swap out the plate for the one that comes with the mobo.
     
  20. Alien18

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 189

    Phew! I was hoping that I'd get something like that. It's been absolutely years since I've built a PC and a fair bit of stuff have changed then.

    Such as the lovely new Cases - the 3.5" bays come out (I'm very excited about that) no more taking of both side panels and nearly taking a chunck out of your motherboard to get a new HDD in lol.

    Thank you.