Basic PC + GeForce Now or Budget Gaming rig?

Associate
My son is going to turn 12 and wants a gaming PC for his birthday.

He's been playing Fortnite and dabbling with streaming on my iMac via GeForce Now (got himself into founders plan). I'd like to stop being evicted from my office, and he'd like to learn a bit about PCs so I figured a self build would be a good birthday present.

Would he be better off getting a low spec PC and continuing with GeForce Now for £7.99 a month, or doing the processing locally on a budget gaming rig. Budget is about £400. We already have a monitor, keyboard and mouse.

I'd put price difference into Steam credits for him.

Soldato
I've no experience with GeForce Now - I gather it's just Cloud Gaming? But for £400 you don't have much options to buy new, with a good dedicated graphics card at least. You could definitely buy a used rig for that price though.

Or build a decent 'upgradeable' new PC with £400 - it'd be onboard graphics and could run Fortnite low-medium settings with good FPS @ 1080p. Then if you can budget more later for him, you could add a decent GPU and upgrade the CPU possibly if needed.

Soldato
£550 is the best I could get it down to without compromising on performance too much.

You could scrape £10 off and get a cheaper case, but I thought for £10, the lad would like some RGB? :p (the case has decent airflow too)

Could also save £20 and get a 240GB SSD instead of 500GB, but at this point he'd only have room to install Windows and a few games and it would be full?

Ideally I'd like to suggest 16GB RAM, but it'd be another £24 - you could always add more later though. However looking at Fortnite benchmarks, 8GB vs 16GB RAM there is very little performance boost anyway so 8GB will be fine to begin with.

The RX 580 is still a great GPU despite being a 3 year old model, brill for a first time 1080p rig. It'll run Fortnite at high/epic settings quite easily too.