Beginner Mistake Stock Thermal Paste

HHC

HHC

Associate
While mounting the heat sink onto the cpu I stuck my finger right in the middle of the pre applied thermal paste circle leaving a nice fingerprint in the middle. I went ahead and mounted the heat sink as I haven’t bought any thermal paste yet. I know the stock thermal pastes aren’t great and I’d be better off replacing it but I’m a beginner and it took me a while to mount on the cpu so I left it. Will the heat sink still cool the cpu or does everything need taking apart and reapplying? It’s the stock heat sink that comes with the ryzen 1600. Thanks.

Soldato
Potential problem is if your print trapped air in the seat. Then the as air heats/expands and cools/contracts it will progressively push TIM out and CPU will run higher temps. But that usually does not happen. Just keep an eye on CPU temps and if they start rising get some TIM to do it right.

Associate
The bigger problem is the stock heatsink! I really wouldn't worry about it unless you want to change the heatsink. The money you spend on replacing the compound would be far better put towards a better heatsink.

Associate
If it works it's fine.

Could it work better? Sure - but that'd mean replacing your stock heatsink.

Enjoy your working system - you've not damaged it.

HHC

HHC

Associate
OP
Is there a standard temperature range I should be expecting from the ryzen 1600 or does it depend on the mb and gpu I’m using? Anyone know what it is?

HHC

HHC

Associate
OP
System isn’t running yet. Bought almost everything in November, put it all together, it’s been sitting in a corner since waiting for some ram.

HHC

HHC

Associate
OP
No idea if all the parts work or connected the cables up correctly. It’s gone way past the 30 days I get for returns. Seeing as I haven’t used anything yet, when I eventually turn it on, should something not function correctly what options do I have regarding a replacement?

Soldato