1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Belkin 7633 .17 firmware telnet disabled :-(

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Jez, 15 May 2006.

  1. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,441

    I just bought this router in order to perform the manual SNR tweak, it turns out after lots of searching that the new 17 firmware disables the telnet interface!

    Does anyone have any idea's how i may switch this back on? It was the only reason i bought the damn thing :( If i try and upload the 11 firmware from belkins site it tells me that the "upload failed due to containing an illegal image"

    Dont know what to do from here :'( Anyone any idea's at all??
     
  2. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    cant you enable it via the web interface?
     
  3. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,441

    I'm pulling my hair out mate :( Its completely gone as confirmed by a few posts on adslguide. I cant seem to work out a way to downgrade either
     
  4. Balb0wa

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,518

    Location: Chesterfield

    erk i didnt know there was a firmware higher than 11, i use the snr tweak on my bulldog line.

    not seen anything on the adsl guide forums either.
     
  5. Balb0wa

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,518

    Location: Chesterfield

    where did you get the .17 firmware from? pre installed? cant find it anywhere
     
  6. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,441

    Shipped on the router mate, belkin support are absolutely utterly clueless, they just literally hang up on me as soon as i get insistant that there must be a way to enable telnet. They dont even seem to know what telnet is :-(
     
  7. Wingz

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,717

    Location: Cardiff

    have you tried using a older than .11 firmware?
     
  8. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,441

    No mate, do you have a link to any older versions? :) worth a go i guess
     
  9. Wingz

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,717

    Location: Cardiff

    Version 0.9
     
  10. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,441

    Utilities > Firmware Updates > Updating

    Image uploading failed. The selected file contains an illegal image.


    :'( Cheers anyway dude
     
  11. Wingz

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,717

    Location: Cardiff


    sorry to hear that :( i ordered one as well so i guess its going have the .17 firmware as well.
     
  12. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,441

    Dont bother mate, its useless :/ Speaking (finally!) to a manager at belkin tech support he advised that the only way to access the telnet functions was to either wait for a new firmware for the V1144, or to buy a V1000 which comes with .09 as standard.
     
  13. Wingz

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,717

    Location: Cardiff

    sorry to hear that jez :(

    mine arrived today and the box says version ver.1001uk so its a ver .10.
     
  14. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,441

    Ive bought another one mate :) Got a version 1001 which means firmware .09 which i have now upped straight off to .11

    Bloody excellent router!! Thanks to the SNR tweak and excellent chipset (it synced higher than any of my other routers without having to do anything) i am now synced solidly at 3500k, or in other words enough for my BRAS profile to hit 3000k data rate, which is 375KB/s :) Not bad for a 62DB 5.5k line i think you will agree!
     
  15. Balb0wa

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,518

    Location: Chesterfield

    Yes im same on bully , shocking line, the belkin got me from 1.5mb to 3mb , holds the low snr great, much better than the 834GT(which supposedly has the same chipset)
     
  16. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,441

    Just to warn future buyers of this router, which is excellent by the way.

    DO NOT BUY THE V1144UK MODEL, IT IS SHIPPED WITH 1.00.17, IT DOES NOT SUPPORT TELNET, THEREFORE ONLY HAS A VERY BASIC FEATURESET


    !!! :)
     
  17. boosfuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Nov 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: Warwickshire

    Just got this router today with 1.00.17 firmware. Read a post over on the adslguide forums that said you can use ssh (specifically axessh program) in palce of telnet for this firmware revision. I;ve tried it and it works a treat for SNR tweaking.
     
  18. Richdog

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2005

    Posts: 25,657

    Location: Utopia

    I'm going to buy this router from ******* today chaps, heard very good things about it. Is t best paired with a Belkin wireless PCI card, and if so can you reccommend which mdoel pleas? Currently in D-link hell, and this snr tweak seems great as I have a really crappy line... :)

    EDIT - Me too.
     
    Last edited: 27 May 2006
  19. boosfuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Nov 2002

    Posts: 691

    Location: Warwickshire

    oops, forgot where I was[edit]


    I like this router after using it for a couple of days but 2 things annoy me.

    1. Still can't get it to work with the BT Broadband Talk module (10V). Even if I mirror the settings over from my old Netgear router.
    2. You can't reserve DHCP addresses by MAC address.
     
    Last edited: 27 May 2006
  20. Richdog

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2005

    Posts: 25,657

    Location: Utopia


    Holy poo I didn't realise you could do that, I just thought it meant the item was available in-store... almost seems too good to gbe true saving £15 just for ordering it at home and picking it up... cheers mate! :D

    Would you reccommend the Belkin F5D7001uk 125mb/s Wireless PCI card to go with it? :)