1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best 32" 1080P TV

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by KWJay, 15 Oct 2009.

  1. KWJay

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,191

    Location: Somewhere Fabulous...

    Hi OcUKers

    Was just looking for some advice - I'm planning on upgrading my 32" Sammy soon and was wondering what the best 32" 1080p set is currently on the market.

    Now i can't go any larger than 32" due to the space the tv has to fit in (i'm not re-arranging my whole bedroom!) so would like to know what the best all round TV would be. I'll be using it for my 360, to watch standard Sky, DTV, HD-DVD/BluRay movies and HD downloads from my pc. Budget not too much of an issue as i think it's worth paying for quality!

    Thanks in advance everyone!
     
  2. Ev0

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,876

    Panasonic V10?
     
  3. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,626

    Location: Brighton

    The Pioneer, I set one up a while back and it was so much better than any other 32" (even the LG Plasma).
     
  4. RSR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2006

    Posts: 8,782

    Whats the point of 1080P @ at size? You're not going to see it are you?

    Dont the V10s start at 42" pannel? The Pioneer LCDs use Sharp pannels ive not seen one in action as of yet, but i have read mixed reports.
     
  5. KWJay

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,191

    Location: Somewhere Fabulous...

    Yes. I am. Having owned a 720p/1080i set for the last few years i visited my sister who's other half has a Viera 32" and it looked much better. Probably wouldn't make a lot of difference on movies/TV but i play a lot of 360 and it does make a difference.

    It looks like the V10s start at 37 or 42 to me.
     
  6. RSR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2006

    Posts: 8,782

    Another vote for the V10 in that case :D
     
  7. MikeHunt79

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 20,833

    Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    take a look at the samsung one with the LED backlight :)
     
  8. KWJay

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,191

    Location: Somewhere Fabulous...

    Lol! Guys, i need 32", not anything above!

    Edit: Sorry, should have said it was a Viera 32" 1080P model.
     
  9. Locke

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Oct 2006

    Posts: 5,618

    Location: Clifton, Bristol

    Get the Panny 32X10, not 1080p but it'll look better than these other 32" TV's mentioned and it'll save you money.

    Or just spend a little extra and get the G series.
     
  10. Ev0

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,876

  11. insane200

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 Aug 2006

    Posts: 6,785

    v10 can also be had with a free blueray player and 5yr warrenty at the mo.
     
  12. KWJay

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,191

    Location: Somewhere Fabulous...

    So, any more suggestions anyone?
     
  13. RSR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2006

    Posts: 8,782

    The Sony KDL-32W5500, is worth a look :D
     
  14. -Ad-

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Nov 2004

    Posts: 13,710

    Location: Aberdeen

    Can you physically not fit in a 37 panasonic plasma ?

    If you can fit it in then get one, it will put a 32 LCD to shame :D
     
  15. KWJay

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,191

    Location: Somewhere Fabulous...

    I can physically fit it in if i want it pointing at the exact opposite corner of my room! Trouble is i have my pc in one corner, then my decks/deckstand in the middle then the tv in the other corner. The gap is 80cm wide, just about ok for a 32" set but no chance of fitting anything bigger and still have it pointed at my bed.

    EDIT: Oh, one other question which i have been wondering about, if i connect up my PC to a plasma via DVI - HDMI will i be able to select HD resolutions? Most plasma tv's that i've seen list the resolution as 1024x768, is that just for the VGA input?
     
    Last edited: 16 Oct 2009
  16. suarve

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,190

    Location: Midlands, UK

  17. Ev0

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,876

    They have both freeview and freesat receivers in iirc :)

    So you would get freeview, but not through the freesat tuner but from the freeview tuner :)
     
  18. suarve

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,190

    Location: Midlands, UK

    This is weird as I've just been in a few stores - 2 said I would get normal freeview and one said i definately wouldn't - all big name stores too.

    On the plus side they'll throw in a panasonic blu ray player for £50 if I buy the tx-l32g10b :)
     
  19. insane200

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 Aug 2006

    Posts: 6,785

    Big name store with a lack of knowlege nothing new there then.
     
  20. Damien.

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Nov 2006

    Posts: 6,723