1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best ADSL for gameing?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Sone, 28 Feb 2006.

  1. Sone

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,664

    Currently on pipex 1mbit but thinking of moveing somewhere else, i remeber Eclispe and Nildram used to good for gameing. But didn't pipex buy nildram out?

    Not bothered about speed, price or caps (as long as its not 1gb or something stupid like that), anybody got any recommendations?
     
  2. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Gaming. Moving. I find my Zen connection pretty good - low latency and constant pings.

    Zen are discontinuing the package I have (Home 2000) tomorrow, but I don't know if that means orders must be received by tomorrow or fulfilled by tomorrow.
     
  3. aaazza

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Sep 2003

    Posts: 928

    Location: Bedfordshire

    Don't think there is that much of a difference with latency and pings among the decent (slightly subjective but I would say: Zen, Eclipse, Nildram, Pipex, Demon etc) ISPs.

    I've used Eclipse, BT and Pipex and all give a 15-40 ping (average) on a UK CS server (BT pings were always slightly lower but this might not always be the case).

    EDIT: Just read about this ISP, haven't used them before personally, might be worth a look: - AmmoBOX - apparently designed for gamers - link

    hth

    aaazza
     
    Last edited: 28 Feb 2006
  4. eternity

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 347

    I can recommend Eclipse. Always had really low pings with them, normally hovering around 15-25 max. I guess it depends on your geographical location aswell.
     
  5. ste_bla

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,794

    Location: Milton Keynes

    With me, pinging jolt.co.uk;

    BT - 21-25ms
    AOL - 15-17ms
    Eclipse - 12-13ms
     
  6. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Biggest variation in your latency is going to be within BTw's network.
    Provided your ISPs decent and isn't packing their Centrals (or the rest of their network) to the limit, you shouldn't see much (if any) difference.
     
  7. Sone

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,664

    thanks for the replies, may try ammobox as they only have a monthly contract
     
  8. Al Vallario

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,534

    Location: UK

    Just a note; have you noticed PIPEX have re-jigged their plans recently? It appears you can now get 'PIPEX Go' (2Mbps unlimited) for pretty much the same price as PIPEX SOLO 1000 used to be (Around £24/month) :)
     
  9. Sone

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,664

    can only get 1mbit at the moment :( , did one of those max dsl calculators and it only came out at 1.9mbit.

    Very annoying as an exchange with loads of LLU kit is very close to me (within 200 yards :( , i believe it was the first exchange in the country to have LLU kit before BT kit)
     
  10. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    Is that with the same modem/router? as that will make a difference, also, it's best to ping at full mtu (if you're not already) as it will give a better representation of ping.
     
  11. danceMB

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,015

    Just been connected with Zen, and must say that I thought AOL was slightly faster than what I have now, not sure why really but its early days yet.

    One thing I did notice is that when I connect with my Speedtouch 330, at 1st connect my machine just freezes, and requires my pulling the lead out the back, and then plugging back in, until hopefully the system starts responding again, and then the 2nd time I connect it all goes through without any freezing. Can anyone help me there?
     
  12. FunkyT

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2003

    Posts: 3,472

    I strongly suggest you purchase a modem/router - dial up networking is very lame...
     
  13. ste_bla

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,794

    Location: Milton Keynes

    All with a Netgear DG834G

    Aol @ 1400 mtu

    Bt @ Default (1492?)

    Eclipse @ 1496
     
  14. FunkyT

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2003

    Posts: 3,472

    My friend uses a Binatone USB modem on his 8Mbps Bulldog service and gets 3.5Mbps. We tried my NETGEAR DG834G and he got 4.5Mbps!
     
  15. danceMB

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,015

    I do actually have a Netgear ADSL wired router with me, but I have to buy an ethernet card for both of the machines that I have to use it. Im sure that the problems will just melt away after that, at least I hope they will as this is driving me mad!
     
  16. FunkyT

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2003

    Posts: 3,472

    I'm guessing that both of your machines are pretty old?

    I suggest a Belkin PCI Ethernet card (£10) in the PC connected to the router and a NETGEAR WG311 PCI Wi-Fi card (£30) in the "remote" PC.
     
  17. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Default's 1500.
     
  18. danceMB

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,015

    I was thinking if the freezing when I connect to the internet problems persist, I might have to go down the road of re-installing Windows XP and everything all over again. The best option would be a whole new hard drive, but I just cannot afford that right now.
     
  19. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    Thats as in you're using ping.exe jolt.co.uk -l mtu?
    BT said not to use 1500.
     
  20. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Ages ago.