1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Best AMD Duel Core cpu

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by zero_01, 7 Mar 2006.

  1. zero_01

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 370

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Okey i am considering getting a AMD Duel Core cpu but i am not planning on overlocking it.

    Is The 3800+ good

    any other ideas on any better cpu its for mostly gaming.

    Hope to play the up and comeing games on vista.
     
  2. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    The X2 3800+ (2x 512kB L2 cache) is a very good dual core CPU.

    The 4400+ (2x 1024kB L2 cache) is possibly a better buy but also more expensive. That would be my choice if it was within my budget.

    The Opteron 165 / 170 (2x 2048kB L2 cache) are great dual core CPU's, especially for overclocking.
     
  3. zero_01

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 370

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    looking at the prices the 3800+ Duel Core is the best for me the 4400+ is 2 expensive for me is the 3800+ gonna be good when vista comes out,
     
  4. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,627

    Location: Surrey

    Its 2048Kb of L2 cache in total not per core. Onlye 1MB per core. Read this
     
    Last edited: 7 Mar 2006
  5. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    If you're not overclocking the X2 3800+ is a good dual core chip. The OEM version is a particuarly good price, at only £159+VAT. You will need a HSF for this - I'd recommend the Artic Freezer 64 Pro. Great quiet HSF and not too expensive (it's cheaper to buy the OEM chip and this HSF than the retail chip at the moment)

    The Opteron 165 will perform about the same at stock, slower clock speed but more cache. It's expensive though so only worth it if you're going to overclock
     
  6. Street

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2005

    Posts: 7,934

    Location: Liverpool

    Is that one of those CPUs where each core fights each other for supremacy? :p
     
  7. zero_01

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 370

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Yeh it would be hard for them to decied which one was the best
     
  8. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,834

    Location: Tosche Station

    :D :D :D LOVING THIS THREAD
     
  9. kingnothing

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Oct 2005

    Posts: 82


    Duel core? You are going to fight with it? :confused:
     
  10. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2004

    Posts: 3,390

    Location: London

    there can be only one!!!
     
  11. King_Boru

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,356

    Location: Canada

    Core 0: "Core 1, I am your farther"

    Core 1: "Nooooooooooooo"

    Ok too geeky :o
     
  12. zero_01

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 370

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Someone has been watching star wars too much. ;)
     
  13. Agent WD40

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2005

    Posts: 710

    Ehehehehe, a little geeky but still very amusing...

    Agent.
     
  14. Clown

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,087

    Location: London

    Yet "father" is wrong...
     
  15. L_D

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 290

    Location: Glasgow.

    on purpose for comedy value I think?

    :)
     
  16. zero_01

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2005

    Posts: 370

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    i didnt even notice the mistake if it was for comedy value or not. Shows you how much concentration i have.
     
  17. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    LMAO! :D
     
  18. King_Boru

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,356

    Location: Canada

    Took it from Austin Powers : Goldmember

    Farjer>farther>father ;)
     
  19. L_D

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 290

    Location: Glasgow.


    thought so :)


    Anyway on topic - for best price/performance ratio it has to be 3800+ - will be fine for Vista and games - although games performance will depend heavily on your graphics card too.
     
  20. chex

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Dec 2005

    Posts: 500

    I hear vista will want 800mb RAM too

    so stock up on that as well