1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best clocking AVAILABLE S939 cpu ?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Vogon, 24 Jan 2006.

  1. Vogon

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,003

    Basically I am looking for 3ghz on air with a multi of at least 10.
    Which chips are most likely to get this without costing a bomb ?
    As Opterons are like rocking hoss doo-doo, is there anything else around that has a good chance ?
     
  2. lemonkettaz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2005

    Posts: 11,800

    i doubt anything is as good as opterons for overclocking...

    ive missed that boat, next boat.. dual core
     
  3. mightynimrod

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,259

    Location: Notts J27 M1

    You could go for a cheapy FX57 seeing as the Opterons have knocked the floor out of their value lately.

    Other than that, just wait for a decent Opteron to come up in the MM
     
  4. Vogon

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,003

    Cheapy ?? I wouldn't call them cheap ;)

    Currently have my 4000 @ 2.6ghz, so really I think its going to need 3ghz for me to notice much difference, but for some odd reason I seem to have an aversion to paying so much for a little square thing :p
    On the other hand if you have anything of interest about to go on sale, drop me a mail (I always seem to miss the MM bargains lol) ;)
     
    Last edited: 25 Jan 2006
  5. mightynimrod

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,259

    Location: Notts J27 M1

    LOL i meant in relation to what they cost new.......they can be had for £400-£450 now which is considerably cheaper than new prices.

    Opterons the way for near-3ghz cheapness then.

    Just wait for one as they seem to come up in the MM regularly.
     
  6. hogfather

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,074

    Location: Sarrrf London

    there are 144s available on the site atm. But 3ghz isnt gatanteed in any case!
     
  7. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

    i got a 3700 san diego to 3ghz
     
  8. VaderDSL

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,251

    Location: Manchester

    3700 SD is your best bet atm :p
     
  9. Baker

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 937

    My 3700 SD is at 2.8 on stock cooling and volts...
     
  10. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 26,578

    Location: Rutland

    Yeah alot of the 3700SDs have been clocking very nicely recently.
     
  11. Vogon

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,003

    Are 3700 SD's 2ghz stock ?
    2.8 isnt enough of a boost for me personally over my 4000 @ 2.6ghz
    What are the X2 3800 clocking like, and does half the L2 cache slow it down for gaming ?
    Could possibly risk that route if I can reach 2.8, as at least I can have dual cores so something has improved ;)
     
  12. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,556

    Location: Autonomy

    I'd say 2.8ghz for an x2 3800 would need to be under water imo.
    2.6ghz on air yes

    someone please tell if they are running 2.8ghz x2 3800 on air:)

    if your going dual get an opteron 170 ;)
     
    Last edited: 25 Jan 2006
  13. Vogon

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,003

    Lol .. I did mention available ;)
    What is a 170 at stock speeds, and what sort of UK price out of interest , if they ever come available.
     
  14. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 26,578

    Location: Rutland

    The Opteron 165 is now in stock in a UK store for £270, thats a dual 1.8ghz 1mb cache per core chip.
     
  15. Vogon

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,003

    Only a 9x multi tho ;) and £270 .. :eek:
     
  16. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,197

    Location: Belfast

    Why does the multi matter?

    You might find 2.9 Ghz quite easy on an Opty 144 and they are cheap.
     
  17. Vogon

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,003

    How many boards will push much more than 300 fsb/htt stable without major mods ;) (Apart from yours :p)
    I am getting an Asus A8R-MVP board tommorow, reviews I have seen have just topped around 320, but I might not be so lucky, so basically to have any chance of hitting 3ghz I need at least a 10 multi.

    It will be a couple of weeks or so before I look to go this way, hopefully by then their might be some suitable chips around.
    I guess I wouldn't mind paying more for something that was sure to get that magic 3ghz stable on air.

    If not I will stick to my trusty 4000 @ 2.6, just seems that CPU's are not moving forwards at that much of a pace these days.
     
    Last edited: 25 Jan 2006
  18. Baker

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 937

    2.2.
     
  19. hogfather

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,074

    Location: Sarrrf London

    3700 are such a bargain - 2.2 with 1 mb cache for 140 quid!
     
  20. GAMEfreak

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 759

    Location: Newry, Northern ireland

    yeah i'm so tempted to buy one second hand rather than an opteron, and OC the beast.