1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

best program for htpc

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by adbp1, 14 Oct 2009.

  1. adbp1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Dec 2007

    Posts: 2,054

    Location: Oxonfordshire

    been looking at a few programs. dont know which is better.
    what does everyone else use?

    media centre
    imdian
    mythbuntu
    meedios
    gb-pvr
    media portal

    im sure there are many more.
     
  2. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,749

    Location: Kent

    I use media center for the past 3 years.
     
  3. Seft

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Sep 2003

    Posts: 4,105

    Location: Radlett

    I use Media Portal (crucially, with the Moving Pictures and MP-TV Series plugins), but I intend to switch over to XBMC at the next release.
     
  4. Pho

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,137

    Location: Derbyshire

    I use GB-PVR for recording (it runs as a service) and XBMC for playing back and it works great.

    seft: you can get nightly builds from here, no need to wait for the latest version :).
     
  5. Supertaff

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,017

    My Movies, can be found at www.mymovies.dk

    for dvd collection management for ripped dvd's.

    Also works great if you run a home server.

    Taff
     
  6. HEADRAT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 20,966

    Location: Cambridge, UK

  7. vidda

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Dec 2008

    Posts: 444

    Another vote for XBMC!
     
  8. Ekim

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,902

    Location: London

    I use XBMC too.
     
  9. Seft

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Sep 2003

    Posts: 4,105

    Location: Radlett

    I'm well aware, but the nightlies didn't seem stable enough
     
  10. gbradders123

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Jul 2009

    Posts: 603

    Location: Shropshire

    myhtbuntu here! complete git to get working, in fact it only half works. i will get abck to once the nights draw in a bit and i get bored.
     
  11. photoshop

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Nov 2006

    Posts: 5,531

    MediaPortal Here
     
  12. Fanatic

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,665

    Location: Birmingham

    MediaPortal here too, mainly because of this:

    [​IMG]

    And the TV in MediaPortal is a much better program than WinTV that came with my Hauppauge NovaT-500.
     
  13. derkaderka

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 30 Jun 2009

    Posts: 433

    Location: NI

    GB PVR , used it for several years now , cant fault it , works great
     
  14. BeeP

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,095

    Location: A cold place

    Mediabrowser looks better than that imho m8.

    I use VMC with Media browser, MCM to get my DVD covers & meta data (don't have to but they are better) & stark covers to add a little bit of a 3d element to the covers.

    All looks great when fired up.
     
  15. Banzai_Joe

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Sep 2006

    Posts: 5,143

    Location: Midlands, UK

    MediaPortal for me.....it can be a mare setting up, but once its done, its a really cool app, with plenty of add-ins.
    MyMovies is really nice too.
    MP has the best gui out there imho.
     
  16. ChileanLlama

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2007

    Posts: 1,921

    Location: Leeds

    Media Center with MyMovies (also mediabrowser when I get round to setting it up properly)

    Anyone playing with MyMovies3?
     
  17. Fanatic

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,665

    Location: Birmingham

    I have Vista Business, so no VMC for me. That Medibrowser does look pretty nice, when I get Win7 I might give it a go.
     
  18. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,265

    Location: Cotswolds

    Win7 media centre with MediaBrowser.
     
  19. boosfuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Nov 2002

    Posts: 697

    Location: Warwickshire

    +1 Awesome software & support. Not the flashiest but it just works.
     
  20. adbp1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Dec 2007

    Posts: 2,054

    Location: Oxonfordshire

    ok so the only one that works properly with my remote is media centre. how do i get nice plugins to work. and how can i open it on 2nd screen instead of default monitor.