1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Beta Bios for Tomahawk b450 (non-max) available

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Kilio, 24 Dec 2020.

  1. Kilio

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2020

    Posts: 11

  2. Paul2k12

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2003

    Posts: 580

    Location: Newcastle

    I have just seen this however have not updated as don't have a new ryzen cpu yet. I currently have a Ryzen 3600 and fancy the 5600x. If I update to the new BIOS will I still be able to use the 3600 until I can source a 5600X?
     
  3. Kilio

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2020

    Posts: 11

    I just upgraded but left my 3600x in for now (my two year old won't let me finish the upgrade) and it's booted up just fine.
     
  4. Paul2k12

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2003

    Posts: 580

    Location: Newcastle

    Did you use the Beta version of BIOS. I was planning to do it through the M-Flash option as the pc is fully built and don’t fancy taking it apart!
     
  5. Kilio

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2020

    Posts: 11

    Yeah, and I used mflash. Easy as pie. Oh, but I did reset the CMOS first, using the two pins. No need to pull the battery out.
     
  6. Paul2k12

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2003

    Posts: 580

    Location: Newcastle

    Is that required or not?
     
  7. Kilio

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2020

    Posts: 11

    Well it wouldn't work for me before I did it, but ymmv.
     
  8. bee

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Jul 2005

    Posts: 856

    just did mine today, flashed the bios through mflash, ran prime95 for a bit to check old temp on ryzen 2600 (57.6c) and to heat the paste up so the cooler (noctua dh14) comes off a bit easier, swapped cpus over (to a 5600x) and booted it up just now, running prime95 again and it's hitting 54.3c max, all good

    the only worrying part about the whole thing was when i booted it back up, i don't have a case with a window and had no idea half my fans (psu, cpu) don't even spin up until needed, I was a little alarmed you could say :) stil idles at 30-31 with no cpu fans spinning

    to anyone wondering, the new beta bios ran fine with my old ryzen 2600 so it must support them all i think