1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bf2 shadows

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by mi9tchy, 3 Feb 2006.

  1. mi9tchy

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Mar 2005

    Posts: 895

    Location: london

    voodlegun
     
    Last edited: 26 Jan 2009
  2. bilston

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 1,984

    Location: Worthing

    its just you I think :/

    I quite like em :D
     
  3. Stellios

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Aug 2004

    Posts: 17,023

    Location: Geordieland

    Ive disabled them, makes my game run smoother. But nah, i dont think they are up to much unless you have them on top detail.
     
  4. Dace

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Mar 2005

    Posts: 2,367

    Location: Long Eaton, Nottingham

    I've actually found that playing with most of the settings set to low gives you more of an advantage because you don't have to contend with shadows/confusing textures etc.

    Something like:

    Draw distance 100%
    Effects - Medium (you need this on to be able to see the artillery strikes properly)
    Dynamic Shadows - Low (you get to see shadows cast by solid objects, but don't get distracted by hundreds of them)
    Vector Calculations (Ultra Settings) - Just for accuracy when you shoot
    Other settings - Medium/low depending on how pretty you like the game

    I did this because I found the inside of buildings too dark and kept getting shot when I went into them. Turn the settings down as described above, and you get to see everyone :)
     
  5. mi9tchy

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Mar 2005

    Posts: 895

    Location: london

    i've got everything on full, the shadows look really blocky though
     
  6. Rednut05

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 909

    I run everything on medium. can run high but i thing medium looks nice enough. play the game for the action, not for the landscape painting.

    Also running on medium i load up quicker. normaly top 3 to load on 50 Klicks. but then again my ping runs at 10. so I must be a wee bit close to the server.
     
  7. fullfat

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: Nottingham

    ive also got mine on full whack and they do look crap and should probably be turned off they look so poor
     
  8. Mundu

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: SGC

    I'm getting abit annoyed now I've spent the last hour tweaking things but still can't get the game 100% smooth. Until now I've left everything on high @ 1280x1024 and switched between 2xAA and 4xAA but sometime my FPS can drop in it's 40 say when a smoke grenade explodes and I've mainly noticed it on Mashtuur. I dropped effects and shadows to medium but it still happens but for a shorter time.

    I was wondering what people with 7800gtx, [email protected] ,2GB RAM or similar were running settings wise for 100% smooth play.

    Edit: Seems vsync which I just turned on to compensate for the tearing because I was getting frame rates of +85 seemed to have worsen things slightly.

    Just wondering if I should take advantage of transparent AA or not. I haven't used it before but heard good things about it recently.
     
    Last edited: 3 Feb 2006