1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Big, Purple and (Slightly) Overkill Editing Rig

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by JosephC, 13 Jan 2019.

  1. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    Good evening,

    So firstly, this build is complete, I just have to split the post into Part One and then some extras to fit all the pictures in...

    Secondly, this is my first build in a while and my first ever watercooling loop and seeing as it's already installed (and working), please go easy on me!

    Thirdly, a massive thank you to the magnificent Adrian Austin of Overclockers for spending much time on the phone with me while I decided what to buy and for letting me bounce ideas off him and giving great advice. A true Gentleman.

    An Introduction:

    This build is a new video editing rig for the artist I work with, as the current machine (iMac 2017) is no longer up to the task of 4K editing and has developed many weird and wonderful bugs which make me want to throw it out of the window. So the Mac is going to stay on as a production machine for music (for now) and this is going to be the new video editing rig. The aim is, make it epic and make it pretty so it looks good in the studio.

    Parts:

    To make one thing clear from the start, I cheated slightly. I bought a pre overclocked bundle from Overclockers UK to save both time and due to the fact that these are expensive parts and it's not a personal project, i.e. Someone else is paying! Difficult to explain that I broke it by being an idiot and we have to replace parts... But anyway:


    Asus ROG Rampage VI Extreme

    Intel i9-7940x (running at 4.6Ghz)

    32Gb Memory

    Corsair 1000d Case

    Corsair HX1200i Power Supply

    Samsung 970 Pro m.2 500Gb

    WD Black 3Tb HDD

    Asus ROG Strix Advanced RTX 2080ti

    Noctua NF-F12 Industrial for the Rad

    Noctua NF-A14 Industrial for the case

    EKWB Watercooling -Extreme 360 Kit

    CableMod Custom Purple and White throughout

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Part Two to follow with build pictures etc...


    Thanks for reading,

    Joe


    P.S. Any questions, leave them below and I'll answer...
     
    Last edited: 13 Jan 2019
  2. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    And here is part two:

    I'm progress, test fittings, final fittings, watercooling stuff... And purple cables. And remember, if you're not thrilled with my cable management, the 1000D has doors on the back which do a lovely job of hiding all of it!

    A side note: the coolant is Mayhems Ice Dragon Nano Fluid.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Joe
     
    Last edited: 13 Jan 2019
  3. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    Final Part:

    The best pictures I have of the finished build - impossible to get a decent picture through the side panel (with my phone at least) but as I'm sure you can tell - it's very purple. Everything went remarkably smoothly with no major issues other than the usual minor teething problems. Got all the RGB synced up and everything installed and it's running Adobe Premiere Pro 2018. Even connecting directly to the NAS and getting audio running through the system was easy.

    I do keep breaking fan headers on the Commander Pro though and they're disappearing one by one from the iCue software... If anyone knows why this could be, please let me know!

    So enough rambling from me, I hope you approve of the new system and drop any questions below.

    Thanks,

    Joe

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 13 Jan 2019
  4. Testiculous

    Associate

    Joined: 9 Sep 2017

    Posts: 48

    Pics not showing. :confused:
     
  5. Jasoncmor

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Feb 2010

    Posts: 575

    Location: Bournemouth

    You need to use an image hosting website, like photobucket for example
     
  6. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    Thanks guys, I'm not sure what happened there. They were showing when I posted it :confused: Should be fixed now though, I hope you can see them!

    Joe
     
  7. MaXxBoulton

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Jan 2019

    Posts: 2,280

    Location: bedlam

    That motherboard looks stunning, Very nice build
    Also nice to know i am not the only person running soft tube in my system
     
  8. azazl187

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 2,472

    OMG that case!!! Its just massive!! Like too big for that build surely? Anyway, great build man, i hope you are happy with it.
     
  9. jontwhale

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2007

    Posts: 103

    Looks really good. The purple and white wires look sharp :cool:
     
  10. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    To be fair, it is too big for the build but it made life SO easy so I have no regrets :D
     
  11. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    Thank you! Really pleased with those - first time using CableMod and really happy!

    Joe
     
  12. Smffy

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2015

    Posts: 3,125

    Location: London

    Don’t you find the motherboard tray in the 1000D of exceptionally low quality compared to the rest? All that internal stuff is crazy flimsy in my opinion, mines been gutted internally and at the powder coaters but I reckon I’ll make a custom thicker aluminium tray rather than the one it comes with...

    Also I see you have the 140s in the top, if you have some time do me a favour and just confirm two of them do not fit in the rear exhaust as the 140mm slots are out by a few mm?
     
  13. NMBlack

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Sep 2013

    Posts: 582

    Location: London

    Lovely clean build, well done!........but in two weeks from now you'll be thinking "I wonder if there's a waterblock for this gpu?"
     
  14. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    I wasn't actually too unimpressed with the quality internally. The only thing that felt really flimsy to me was the hard drive sleds that felt like they might snap when you push the tabs in.

    And you're right, they are all 140's but I hadn't actually tried them in the back. I'll have to have a try next time I'm playing around inside.

    Finally, the only issue I have which is a real problem is the Commander Pro is still blowing fan headers so I'm now waiting on a response from Corsair. Even though Overclockers stock the part, they don't stock it as a replacement for a case so won't send me one -_-

    Joe
     
  15. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    Thank you!

    And I've already been thinking that, don't worry! Luckily, I'm in no rush to drain the loop so that's not on the cards just yet... maybe next year haha!

    Joe
     
  16. Smffy

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2015

    Posts: 3,125

    Location: London

    Well i've drilled out the insides entirely, most people remove that drive bay as its a bit of an inconvenient space. The bays are flimsy plastic yes, if you removed the board tray you would see how utterly flimsy it is ;)

    Strange the commander is killing fans, the part is a 1000D branded commander pro, i've got a second one for my install so will keep an eye on it. I'm just curious on the 140 dual rear mount as my fans do not align so i've drilled a few new holes to fix that ;)
     
  17. Distracted

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Aug 2018

    Posts: 2,134

    Looks great! That is one huge case. :eek:

    How are you finding the Ice Dragon fluid, does it reduce temps and is it easy to work with?
     
  18. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    To be fair, I wasn't keen on hacking too many parts to pieces as it was a build for someone else, although I am using the most out of everyone :D I'll have a check on those fans at some point, I wonder if they're all like that?
     
  19. JosephC

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2019

    Posts: 11

    I'm really pleased with it, my idle temp on the CPU is about 28c running a 4.6Ghz 8Pack Overclock. I was warned the only potential issue can come if you use a large tube res because it takes a fast pump speed to shift it and keep it mixed. The danger is it starts to separate in the res if the pump isn't running hard enough. In my small tube res though, I've had no problem at all.

    Joe
     
  20. Smffy

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2015

    Posts: 3,125

    Location: London

    Is it those Noctua? Possibly something in that not compatible but who knows... I have about 30 noiseblockers in pairs going in mine so hopefully not the controllers :D